Help new motherboard installation, chaintech s1689 - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-09-2005, 11:51 PM   #11 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

Your going to have to get a bootable CD somehow. Those upgrade CD's aren't bootable. See if you can get on from a friend, even Windows 98 will work.
__________________

__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 12-10-2005, 01:23 AM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 32
Default

i tried to reboot with windows 2000 pro cd but it didnt work. Should the hard drive be empty. or do I have to clear the cmos each time?
__________________

evan833 is offline  
Old 12-10-2005, 01:25 AM   #13 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by evan833
i tried to reboot with windows 2000 pro cd but it didnt work. Should the hard drive be empty. or do I have to clear the cmos each time?
Make sure you change the boot order in CMOS so that it prompts you to boot from CD, so the boot order should be changed in CMOS to CD rom first.

Clearing the CMOS will not affect anything On the HD itself, Harddrive doesn't have to be empty.
Ste is offline  
Old 12-10-2005, 01:40 AM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 32
Default same thing

I checked and the cd/dvd drive is first boot type.
I see that it lites up spins and does something with the Windows 2000 install cd. I also hear the hard drive working but it still gives me 1 sec. of blue death when trying to start windows.
and then prompt me to start normal or last known or safe mode.
I have tried all modes at restart and the same thing over and over. I have the hard drive as master on primary IDE. jumper at cable select. I have the cd drive as master on secondary IDE. jumber at CS.
evan833 is offline  
Old 12-10-2005, 01:57 AM   #15 (permalink)
My Swag is on!
 
rkf76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 411
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by evan833

Would Clearing all infor off of the hard drive help?
This is killing me.
Bingo! You need to reinstall the OS in order for the drive to work on the new setup, unless you use it as a slave drive. But if you don't have any info on it you care to keep, just reinstall the OS and call it a day!

I'm assuming you can at least get to the BIOS? Do you have a full version of 98 or better? If you answer yes to both of those questions, just reformat the hd and then do a fresh install of the OS and you should be golden
__________________
Mobo Abit AN-M2
CPU AMD Athlon 64 X2 5400 2.8Ghz Black Edition
HD Seagate 7200.10 250GB/Maxtor DM +9 160GB/WD 500gb external
Optical Drive Lite-On LH-20A1L-06 DVD burner
RAM G.Skill DDR2 800 Dual channel 2GB (2 x 1GB)
GPU MSI HD 4830 OC
Audio AudioTrak Prodigy HD2
Speakers Insignia NS-B2111
Receiver JVC UX-G70
PSU Hiper Type-R 580 watts
Case Lian Li PC-7SB w/Window
Monitor Lenovo L222
rkf76 is offline  
Old 12-10-2005, 02:00 AM   #16 (permalink)
My Swag is on!
 
rkf76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 411
Default Re: PULLING MY HAIR OUT!

Quote:
Originally posted by evan833
First of all. I thank you tremendously for helping me.

At this point I just want the whole thing to work. I pulled the slave hard drive off of my older computer. While it was a total backup of the Master. I would give all the info up to get this new computer working. I have been craving to build my own computer. Spending all my lunch hours peering at mother boards, processors and cases. I have finally purchased them but ran into this. So close but still So far away.

I have a supposed good copy of Windows 2000 to Install. and then upgrade to my purchased Windows XP.
I can still get an XP reinstallation cd but it was for a Dell. I think it works only for the Dell computer sold with it.
Sorry if im late but DO NOT USE THAT DELL DISC. You will be in worse shape than you are now because that disc has all the drivers for the mobo for that Dell system, not good.
__________________
Mobo Abit AN-M2
CPU AMD Athlon 64 X2 5400 2.8Ghz Black Edition
HD Seagate 7200.10 250GB/Maxtor DM +9 160GB/WD 500gb external
Optical Drive Lite-On LH-20A1L-06 DVD burner
RAM G.Skill DDR2 800 Dual channel 2GB (2 x 1GB)
GPU MSI HD 4830 OC
Audio AudioTrak Prodigy HD2
Speakers Insignia NS-B2111
Receiver JVC UX-G70
PSU Hiper Type-R 580 watts
Case Lian Li PC-7SB w/Window
Monitor Lenovo L222
rkf76 is offline  
Old 12-10-2005, 02:38 AM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 32
Default

I have set the cd as the first boot. I thought since it went thru a sequence it would pick up the cd after seeing nothing in the floppy
even without a foppy on the computer it need the cd set to first in sequence.
I am reformatting as we speak and at 52%. I will let you know what happens.
So far so good. I will let you know thanks for all that helped me I guess that shooting spree will have to go on hold for now.

I am installing windows 2000 pro and then will upgrade using my purchased Windows XP Upgrade cd.
evan833 is offline  
Old 12-10-2005, 02:46 AM   #18 (permalink)
My Swag is on!
 
rkf76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 411
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by evan833
I have set the cd as the first boot. I thought since it went thru a sequence it would pick up the cd after seeing nothing in the floppy
even without a foppy on the computer it need the cd set to first in sequence.
I am reformatting as we speak and at 52%. I will let you know what happens.
So far so good. I will let you know thanks for all that helped me I guess that shooting spree will have to go on hold for now.

I am installing windows 2000 pro and then will upgrade using my purchased Windows XP Upgrade cd.
yeah, when setting up a new system, you must tell the BIOS to boot from the drive you want to boot from.........

All will be fine once you do the fresh install, no worries
__________________
Mobo Abit AN-M2
CPU AMD Athlon 64 X2 5400 2.8Ghz Black Edition
HD Seagate 7200.10 250GB/Maxtor DM +9 160GB/WD 500gb external
Optical Drive Lite-On LH-20A1L-06 DVD burner
RAM G.Skill DDR2 800 Dual channel 2GB (2 x 1GB)
GPU MSI HD 4830 OC
Audio AudioTrak Prodigy HD2
Speakers Insignia NS-B2111
Receiver JVC UX-G70
PSU Hiper Type-R 580 watts
Case Lian Li PC-7SB w/Window
Monitor Lenovo L222
rkf76 is offline  
Old 12-10-2005, 03:09 AM   #19 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 32
Default

Up and running thank you for your help!
The Final answer was:
I didn't have the CD set as the first boot in the sequence of boots.
I originally didn't have a solid boot cd "Windows installation CD"
evan833 is offline  
Old 12-10-2005, 03:24 AM   #20 (permalink)
My Swag is on!
 
rkf76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 411
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by evan833
Up and running thank you for your help!
The Final answer was:
I didn't have the CD set as the first boot in the sequence of boots.
I originally didn't have a solid boot cd "Windows installation CD"
Congrats! Let us know how you like your new setup
__________________

__________________
Mobo Abit AN-M2
CPU AMD Athlon 64 X2 5400 2.8Ghz Black Edition
HD Seagate 7200.10 250GB/Maxtor DM +9 160GB/WD 500gb external
Optical Drive Lite-On LH-20A1L-06 DVD burner
RAM G.Skill DDR2 800 Dual channel 2GB (2 x 1GB)
GPU MSI HD 4830 OC
Audio AudioTrak Prodigy HD2
Speakers Insignia NS-B2111
Receiver JVC UX-G70
PSU Hiper Type-R 580 watts
Case Lian Li PC-7SB w/Window
Monitor Lenovo L222
rkf76 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.