Help need fast - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-09-2005, 02:06 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 6
Default Help need fast

Hi, im trying to get my computer running that i build, here are the current specs.... it has an amd 64 socket 939 3200 processer, 1 gig of ddr ram, 250 gig hard drive and a geforce 6200 TC pci express 256 mb video card....here is my problem, I CANT GET THE VIDEO CARD TO READ! lol when you go to display adapters it says standard VGA device...nothing else, plug and play doesnt pick it up, i tried taking it out and puting it back in, nothing, tried installing drivers, it gets half ways through and restarts my puter, someone help me!! Windows xp...do i need service pack 2?
__________________

sanders06 is offline  
Old 11-09-2005, 02:11 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
RockyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 893
Send a message via AIM to RockyZ
Default

When you first installed windows XP, did you install your Motherboard/CPU Drivers, Video Card Drivers, and other drivers for hardware you have on your computer. (in that order?)

Of course you should always update to the lates drivers which could be found at Nvidia.com
__________________

__________________

e6300@2.8GHZ
G. Skill 4GB(2x2GB) DDR800
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB
super pi: 1m=20s
RockyZ is offline  
Old 11-09-2005, 02:13 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 6
Default

i installed xp, then put motherboard drivers in and installed those, then when i tried to install vid drivers it just reboots....like windows doesnt pick it up
sanders06 is offline  
Old 11-09-2005, 02:16 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
RockyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 893
Send a message via AIM to RockyZ
Default

Well I mean if you can see pictures on your monitor your computer reconizes your video card...

Are you running SLi or just use a SLi Board, make sure that little chip on your motherboard is set to the right settings. And lke I suggested, tried using the latest drivers.
__________________

e6300@2.8GHZ
G. Skill 4GB(2x2GB) DDR800
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB
super pi: 1m=20s
RockyZ is offline  
Old 11-09-2005, 02:17 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 6
Default

as stated, i cant get drivers to install, im kinda new to this, what do you mean by SLI and what things on board? my board is a elitegroup nfroce4a939
sanders06 is offline  
Old 11-09-2005, 02:27 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 6
Default

any help anyone?
sanders06 is offline  
Old 11-09-2005, 03:39 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 6
Default

I really could use some help....I put all the latest updates on my computer, and then tried newest drivers nvidia, once again, gets half ways through install then restarts, before it restarts it goes to a blue screen but it isnt there fast enough for me to read the error plz help me
sanders06 is offline  
Old 11-09-2005, 03:48 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

it's not a chatroom dude... wait a little while for a response...

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 11-09-2005, 05:27 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Peterborough, Ont.
Posts: 404
Default

Unistall the old driver first and then install the newest compatable driver; the video card is functional, as your monitor would not even work otherwise. Standard vga is a compatable display that runs 680x420 resolution.
yosa is offline  
Old 11-10-2005, 01:09 AM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 405
Default

OK, its 640x480 & there aren't any drivers, you might have a faulty video card or MoBo, you should start some hardware diagnostics. Use someone else you know's computer to test the video card etc.
__________________

__________________
The_Tobes99 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.