Help with my new computer - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-26-2007, 05:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 67
Default Help with my new computer

I intend to build a new computer and got attracted by a
dealer who offers:

AMD Athlon 64 X2 3800+ Processor 2.0GHz
1 MB Cache Socket 939 Orocessor Core: Manchester
Fan included

Price: 64 $

Is this a very good price ? Should I purchase it and then
buy the MB and other components to match this processor ? What MB would you suggest ?

I appreciate your help

RobertXYZ
__________________

RobertXYZ is offline  
Old 10-26-2007, 06:09 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Help with my new computer

nice deal... but i wouldn't really get into a outdated Socket....
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 10-26-2007, 06:15 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 67
Default Re: Help with my new computer

What then is a more up to date socket ?

RobertXYZ
RobertXYZ is offline  
Old 10-26-2007, 06:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Help with my new computer

for AMD its AM2 for Intel its 775
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 10-26-2007, 07:43 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default Re: Help with my new computer

AM2+ motherboards will be out soon too which support newer CPU's HT3 capability and better power management.
turtile is offline  
Old 10-26-2007, 08:12 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 67
Default Re: Help with my new computer

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
for AMD its AM2 for Intel its 775
Thanks to all of you

RobertXYZ
__________________

RobertXYZ is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Along came a hub, a switch, and a router....Aren't they the same? ReikokuKo Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 21 01-10-2013 04:13 AM
A switch, and a router....Aren't they the same? ReikokuKo Networking Tips, Tricks & FAQ 10 04-10-2009 06:24 PM
POST Troubleshooting Guide SYL\X/3K Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 03-07-2009 11:24 AM
Serious computer problem. HeeRoMaKi Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 71 07-28-2007 11:42 PM
Cant seem to fix this dang computer morrty Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 06-11-2007 11:09 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.