Help my laptop is on fire - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-26-2006, 11:18 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 3
Default Help my laptop is on fire

Not really, but I would really like to light it on fire sometimes. I have an hp pavillion that I bought a couple of years ago for school, and it worked fine at first, but now it's prone to overheating and shutting off. I've formatted it once, and I bought a laptop fans to put beneath it, but it still gets really hot. Is there anything else I can get to cool it? Any tips would be appreciated. (I am in the researching stage of building a new computer so I don't have to deal with this anymore)
__________________

ynna is offline  
Old 06-26-2006, 11:43 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
King X13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 987
Send a message via AIM to King X13
Default

put some new thermal paste on it, get a can of air and spray out the dust thats about all aside from what you did already.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
King X13 is offline  
Old 06-27-2006, 01:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 27
Default

I have seen many computers overheat. The first thing to do is this: after your computer is done booting up, check the processes runing in the background. If any process is running high (around 90 - 100) all the time, that could cause your processor to heat up. (Note: "System Idle Process" -- the higher the better, so ignore this one)

I have seen people having to pay some $$$$ to have this issue resolved, particularly with HPs.
radium02 is offline  
Old 06-27-2006, 03:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,304
Send a message via AIM to NewCents05
Default

thermal paste where would you apply the thermal paste to?

take canned air and spray the fans cause alot of dust build up can cause overheating
NewCents05 is offline  
Old 07-07-2006, 12:53 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 15
Default

thermal paste goes on the cpu between the cpu and the heatsink
Karlsdash is offline  
Old 07-07-2006, 01:19 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,304
Send a message via AIM to NewCents05
Default

on a laptop...?
NewCents05 is offline  
Old 07-07-2006, 01:33 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,084
Send a message via Yahoo to IBMan
Default

it goes between almost ALL cpu's and heatinks, may not work for some laptops as some laptop cpus are soldered right to the mobo. but yea do clean it out with canned air, i was amazed at how much dust came out of mine even after a few months.
__________________

__________________
Server:
AMD Athlon 4000+ @ 2.4 GHz
4096 MB RAM
40 GB HDD
Dual Mirrored 500 GB HDDs
DVD-ROM Drive
Windows Server 2003 x64 R2 SP2
IBMan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.