Help with memory and graphics card please - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-04-2006, 08:42 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 11
Default Help with memory and graphics card please

Hey guys/gals my wife and I are upgrading our computers, atm we have
2.0 ghz gateway computer
4600 geforce ti card
512 rd ram
we play world of warcraft etc. online and we are having bad problems due to lag, we were looking at upgrading graphics card and ram if you think it would help out a great deal, or is a computer this old (3yrs ish) even worth upgrading. I look forward to your responses with opinions of upgrades. btw we were looking at putting maybe another 500 dollars Max in each if at all possible without buying a new computer

Twopar is offline  
Old 02-04-2006, 08:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
suicide007's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: inside.
Posts: 279

If youre thinking about a new vid card is the way to go just make sure you get the right kind (AGP or pci express). Also, i had a lot of lag with halo pc online running wirelessly, but i plugged it into my router on a hard connection and it worked fine. If that doesnt help, then srry, cause thats all i got.

Intel Conroe e6750
SLI EVGA 8800gts KO's
4GB Patriot DDR2 800mhz
22" Widescreen Sceptre LCD monitor 5ms
OCZ 700W psu
320gb seagate w/ perpindicular tech.
Creative SB X-Fi Fatality
Thermaltake Armor: Extreme Edition
suicide007 is offline  
Old 02-04-2006, 09:21 PM   #3 (permalink)
Content Team
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 184

It all depends on wether you only want to play Wow or what you want to do with it. If you plan on playing other games later a upgrade my make more sense. I would probably start a new build because RD ram is obselete or horribly expensive.
royalk4 is offline  
Old 02-04-2006, 09:26 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 11

we plan on playing other games as they are avail. such as Vanguard etc,
Twopar is offline  
Old 02-04-2006, 10:05 PM   #5 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

Trotter's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 30,952

500 dollars Max in each
In each computer, or each component? I'm guessing each computer.

You'd do better looking toward a new build, and taking the ram of one comp and adding it to the other.

Buy a new card for the old you keep.

Check these out:




Hard drive


Graphics card

Total: $778 including shipping

As for your old comp, if it is PCI:


All together, you still skate in under a grand.

Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / EVGA GTX 760 2GB
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB / WD Red 3TB
G.SKILL Ripjaws 2x2GB DDR3 1600 - Crucial Ballistix Tracer 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win7 Ult 64-bit - Func MS3 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard

R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 02-04-2006, 10:46 PM   #6 (permalink)
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL

$500 on each system? I suggets buy a sempron rig. you could get a good one for $500. Get a 6600gt and a sempron 64 2800+ and 1 gig ram and you'll be ablt to play WoW fine.
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 02-04-2006, 11:29 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 458

i know a gig or more of ram will greatly help in WOW (im a former WOW player myself).
Intel E8400
Zalman 9500AT
evga 8800gt dual-slot cooler
4gig (2x2gb)g.skill ddr2 1066
gigabyte p43-ds3L
Antec sonata II mid tower
200gb Seagate HDD, 500gb Seagate HDD, 1TB Seagate HDD
bkolk is offline  
Old 02-04-2006, 11:48 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,486

Trotter is right, combine the two and build a new one. That way, you will have a pretty good new one. The old one should be able to keep up with it with the extra RAM and video card.

Vybuni is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:52 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.