Help with memory and graphics card please - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-04-2006, 09:42 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 11
Default Help with memory and graphics card please

Hey guys/gals my wife and I are upgrading our computers, atm we have
2.0 ghz gateway computer
4600 geforce ti card
512 rd ram
we play world of warcraft etc. online and we are having bad problems due to lag, we were looking at upgrading graphics card and ram if you think it would help out a great deal, or is a computer this old (3yrs ish) even worth upgrading. I look forward to your responses with opinions of upgrades. btw we were looking at putting maybe another 500 dollars Max in each if at all possible without buying a new computer
__________________

Twopar is offline  
Old 02-04-2006, 09:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
suicide007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: inside.
Posts: 279
Default

If youre thinking about a new vid card Newegg.com is the way to go just make sure you get the right kind (AGP or pci express). Also, i had a lot of lag with halo pc online running wirelessly, but i plugged it into my router on a hard connection and it worked fine. If that doesnt help, then srry, cause thats all i got.
__________________

__________________
Intel Conroe e6750
SLI EVGA 8800gts KO's
4GB Patriot DDR2 800mhz
22" Widescreen Sceptre LCD monitor 5ms
OCZ 700W psu
320gb seagate w/ perpindicular tech.
Creative SB X-Fi Fatality
Thermaltake Armor: Extreme Edition
suicide007 is offline  
Old 02-04-2006, 10:21 PM   #3 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 184
Default

It all depends on wether you only want to play Wow or what you want to do with it. If you plan on playing other games later a upgrade my make more sense. I would probably start a new build because RD ram is obselete or horribly expensive.
royalk4 is offline  
Old 02-04-2006, 10:26 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 11
Default

we plan on playing other games as they are avail. such as Vanguard etc,
Twopar is offline  
Old 02-04-2006, 11:05 PM   #5 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

Quote:
500 dollars Max in each
In each computer, or each component? I'm guessing each computer.

You'd do better looking toward a new build, and taking the ram of one comp and adding it to the other.

Buy a new card for the old you keep.

Check these out:

CPU
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103535

Mobo
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131569

RAM
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231027

Hard drive
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822148065

Case/PSU
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811129155

Graphics card
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130265

Total: $778 including shipping

As for your old comp, if it is PCI:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130255

AGP:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130232

All together, you still skate in under a grand.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 02-04-2006, 11:46 PM   #6 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default

$500 on each system? I suggets buy a sempron rig. you could get a good one for $500. Get a 6600gt and a sempron 64 2800+ and 1 gig ram and you'll be ablt to play WoW fine.
__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 02-05-2006, 12:29 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 458
Default

i know a gig or more of ram will greatly help in WOW (im a former WOW player myself).
__________________
Intel E8400
Zalman 9500AT
evga 8800gt dual-slot cooler
4gig (2x2gb)g.skill ddr2 1066
gigabyte p43-ds3L
Antec sonata II mid tower
200gb Seagate HDD, 500gb Seagate HDD, 1TB Seagate HDD
bkolk is offline  
Old 02-05-2006, 12:48 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,486
Default

Trotter is right, combine the two and build a new one. That way, you will have a pretty good new one. The old one should be able to keep up with it with the extra RAM and video card.
__________________

Vybuni is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.