HELP ME!! Just built first comp - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-06-2007, 12:55 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 8
Default Re: HELP ME!! Just built first comp

so the vga chip got fried? do you think this is due to me not reinstalling windows? is there any way to get a monitor to work with my comp now? i have an extra vid card is a PCI ATI Rage Theater..old i know..but will it work? do i have to install a driver first?

because if i return this mobo and get the same one i want to avoid frying the VGA chip again.
__________________

bor3d is offline  
Old 10-06-2007, 12:58 PM   #12 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: HELP ME!! Just built first comp

I think what you should do first, is reinstall Windows. And then try another graphic card, if you suspect that the graphics chip is fried.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 10-06-2007, 01:05 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 8
Default Re: HELP ME!! Just built first comp

ya'll haven't answered this one not sure if it was overlooked but....why is my keyboard getting power from my tower? it's only plugged in not turned on (it's hooked up through PS/2)
bor3d is offline  
Old 10-06-2007, 01:07 PM   #14 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: HELP ME!! Just built first comp

That's normal. It's usually because the BIOS has it set, to have the keyboard's NumLock light turned on.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 10-06-2007, 01:08 PM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 8
Default Re: HELP ME!! Just built first comp

sorry for being such a bother.. thanks for the help
bor3d is offline  
Old 10-06-2007, 01:12 PM   #16 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: HELP ME!! Just built first comp

No problem. Don't hesitate to ask anymore questions. You're not bothering us. This forum is asked these kind of questions, everyday...
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 10-06-2007, 01:22 PM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 8
Default Re: HELP ME!! Just built first comp

decided i have to go back to fry's and exchange the MB becuase i think it might be fried. is there any indicator that it is fried? i probably wont mess with it again until i get a new power supply. what are the consequences of a weak powersupply.
bor3d is offline  
Old 10-06-2007, 02:24 PM   #18 (permalink)
cuPWNED
 
commandercup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: N.VA
Posts: 1,465
Send a message via AIM to commandercup Send a message via MSN to commandercup
Default Re: HELP ME!! Just built first comp

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gapl View Post
Whenever you change the motherboard, you have to reinstall the OS. As the OS will only recognize the motherboard it was installed with.
no you don't? You just have to activate it by either connecting to the internet and doing it or calling microsoft tech support, you have say that the previous motherboard had a problem if you call otherwise your request wont' be accepted
__________________
Q9300 - HD 4870 - 4GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers - 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F1 - Corsair 650TX - Foxconn P45A-S
commandercup is offline  
Old 10-08-2007, 05:41 PM   #19 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 306
Default Re: HELP ME!! Just built first comp

What type of monitor do you have? I noticed you said your monitor smelled burnt. If it is a CRT monitor, they are known for having flyback transformer problems. Otherwise no display most likely a mobo issue.
__________________

__________________
Mobo: GA-p35-DS3r
CPU: Q6600 @ 2.4Ghz G0
Video: EVGA 8800 GTS 512MB (G92) 670/972 for the Acer 24" Monitor
P/S: Rosewill RP 550-2 Pro
Case: Antec 900
2X HD: SEAGATE 7200.2 320GB
Memory: G.SKILL 2 GB PC6400 DDR2 800
Os: Windows Vista Premium 32BIT
Indobos is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New comp doesnt turn on Gregz Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 9 08-22-2007 07:07 PM
Comp won't shut off - weird clicking sound Haoming Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 18 08-04-2007 06:58 AM
Comp won't shut off - weird clicking sound Haoming Viruses, Spyware and Malware 2 07-27-2007 01:02 AM
Built a new comp.... now how do i get on the internet?!? therascalking Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 8 06-02-2007 04:32 PM
Help Building a CAD Comp =] GopherBallz New Systems | Building and Buying 12 05-19-2007 03:45 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.