help me design a computer plz - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-29-2005, 08:46 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 71
Default help me design a computer plz

my comp now is too old. games are too choppy on it now. i already have 2 harddrives i can use for the new comp to save money, and a floppy drive i'll use. so if i want to spend less than 12-1300 total, what should i get? i already have a monitor, etc.

i need the best comp i can get for that price, im tired of choppy graphics. yeah, i want to make one myself. i can figure out how i just need you guys to help me pick the best parts that i can afford. maybe an amd athlon based system? i want to make something pretty powerful. thanks
__________________

honor man is offline  
Old 12-29-2005, 08:47 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 71
Default

i also want a dvd burner thanks
__________________

honor man is offline  
Old 12-29-2005, 09:07 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

DVD Burner: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16827136071

CPU: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103539

Ram: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820220037

Motherboard: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813130491

Video card: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130247

Poewr supply: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817104934

And what ever case you want. If the parts are to expensive you can always just downgrade a little.
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 12-29-2005, 04:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 155
Default

[URL=http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16827152058]
try this dvd burner!http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16827152058
tariqadkhan is offline  
Old 12-29-2005, 04:50 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 451
Default

For $1300, this is the best build you can get:

CPU- AMD64 X2 3800- $322
Mobo- eVGA sli mobo (free with purchase of 7800GT from MonarchComputer)
Ram- OCZ Performance 2GB (1GBx2)- $200
DVD Burner- 2x NEC Dual Layer- $100
Video Card- eVGA 7800GT- $360 (from Monarch Computer)
Sound Card- Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic- $112
Case- Your choice- $50
Power Supply- Antec TRUEPOWERII TPII-550- $90
Operating System- Windows XP Pro Upgrade- $80

Total- $1314
persianxballer is offline  
Old 12-31-2005, 11:06 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 71
Default

well, i was thinking about it. im happy with my version of windows (xp) and all now, so theres no need to buy a new one. i was thinking i could just use take out the harddrive i have now, and put it like it is into the new system. so that way i wouldnt have to transfer any data or anything.

and a dvd-r can burn cdrs and cdrws too of course right?
honor man is offline  
Old 12-31-2005, 11:06 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 71
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by persianxballer
For $1300, this is the best build you can get:

CPU- AMD64 X2 3800- $322
Mobo- eVGA sli mobo (free with purchase of 7800GT from MonarchComputer)
Ram- OCZ Performance 2GB (1GBx2)- $200
DVD Burner- 2x NEC Dual Layer- $100
Video Card- eVGA 7800GT- $360 (from Monarch Computer)
Sound Card- Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic- $112
Case- Your choice- $50
Power Supply- Antec TRUEPOWERII TPII-550- $90
Operating System- Windows XP Pro Upgrade- $80

Total- $1314
that is a sweet setup. it makes me giddy just thinking about it. i cant afford it now though damnit
honor man is offline  
Old 12-31-2005, 11:09 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 71
Default

bump
honor man is offline  
Old 12-31-2005, 11:41 PM   #9 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by honor man
i was thinking i could just use take out the harddrive i have now, and put it like it is into the new system. so that way i wouldnt have to transfer any data or anything.
It won't work. The hardware differences will cause Windows to BSOD half way thru the boot process. You'll have to reinstall.
__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 01-01-2006, 12:18 AM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 47
Default

You said ur budget was 1300 then you said you could not afford 1300 wtf lol
__________________

JFlo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.