Help me build a basic, but "Fast" computer for my friend. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-28-2006, 12:14 AM   #1 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default Help me build a basic, but "Fast" computer for my friend.

Ok my freind has just asked me to build him a computer. his budget is between $300-$400. He will NOT be gaming. All he needs basically is a cpu, mobo, ram, HDD, case, and a videocard if the mobo doesnt have an integrated one. He can use his old DVD drives, but he says he wants to get a new hard drive.

He mainly uses his pc for itunes, wathcing videos, and dvd's, internet browsing, and other basic stuff, but he does run windows media center edition on his pc now, and he wathces TV on it, so he needs somehting that will handle that. He says he wants it "fast" lol.

I was thinking something like an Athlon 64, or a Pentium D, 1 gig ram, a 250GB 16mb cache hdd, i already have the case picked out with a 400watt psu, and a cheap videocard if needed. My main question is this. He lieks to do a LOT of multi tasking, everytime I'm at his house he has like 8 windows opened up lol. So should i go with a Pentium D, or an Athlon 64?

I'd appreciate it if you guys can post links to parts you think that'd be good for him. I'm pretty sure 400 should cover it since he isn't gaming.
__________________

__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 10-28-2006, 04:16 PM   #2 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,403
Default

Athlon 64 3700+ (s939) - 93.00
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103622
Foxconn 6100K8MA-RS - 58.00 (onboard nvid1a 6100)
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813186085
mushkin 512MB 184-Pin DDR SDRAM - 70.00
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820146169
WD 250GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s - 78.00
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822144701
COOLER MASTER Centurion 5 - 75.00
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811119080

374.00 without shipping... he can add another 512MB stick when he has the money... you might even be able to pick up a cheap 1GB kit else where...

or he can go for something like this...

http://www.geeks.com/details.asp?inv...-A38-R&cat=SYS
__________________

__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 10-28-2006, 05:04 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 108
Default

Awsome job nukem, thats the kinda pc I would want for video's and web browsin.
If he dosent want a 250gb HD, I would strongly suggest:
Western Digital Caviar Sata 3gb/s 80GB HD $43.99
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822135106
and
PNY Optima 1GB (2 x 512MB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400
instead of the mushkin
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820236110

That would come to a total of about $380. The 1 gig of RAM is really nice when you're watchin movies alot.
__________________
Current Build (Hope to finish by late spring):
Intel Q6600 g0
Asus Maximus Formula
geIL Evo 2GB (2x1gb) DDR2
ATI HD3870 X2 or Nvidia 9800 X2?
2x 150gb RaptorX (Have it)
Thermaltake Toughpower 750w PSU (Have it)
ZeroTHERM BTF90
Antec P182 Case
HP w2207 22" Monitor (Have it)
bmitchell73 is offline  
Old 10-28-2006, 05:13 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 268
Default

outpost.com has some decent prices on ram, if i remember correctly.
fastrandstrongr is offline  
Old 10-29-2006, 01:29 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 73
Send a message via AIM to freedonutss
Default

1. Pentium 805 D, Dual core Processor = 90
2. ECS P4M890T-M2 Motherboard = 60, with onboard Video
3. Kingston 512mb pc2700 ram (im selling a stick btw)
4. Most likely a SATA HDD, Can get a good 80gig one for about 50 bucks.
5. Probably a xion. Good cases for prices. range from $40-100. Some come with PSU.
6. Samsung DVDRW/CDRW Writer, 5/5 ratings = $30
All from newegg.
__________________
Aspire X-Navigator Series
Intel 3.66 Ghz Dual Core
2x 1GB Kingston 4-4-4-12 Ram
ECS P4M890T-M2 LGA 775 M/B
Nvidia Geforce 7900GTO 512 MB PCI x16
Rosewill 700W PSU
Seagate Barracuda 250GB 16MB 3.0gb/s
freedonutss is offline  
Old 10-29-2006, 01:07 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 267
Send a message via AIM to Biggie578
Default

to get some extra preformance without buying better parts, get rid of itunes

seriously, tweak it alot. http://www.tweakguides.com/

I have seen a huge increase in preformance with just basic tweaks (services/UI stuff). I made my 1.8 duron very useful for multitasking. I think a sempron 64 would be more than enough. 512mb RAM is fine, 2x256. A nice simple mobo. Socket 754 is cheaper than 939, 184 pin DIMM. a PATA hdd would probably be cheaper. Sorry that that is so jumbled and no links. Something between the 2 sets suggested would be best.
Biggie578 is offline  
Old 10-29-2006, 01:01 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 12
Default

also, if your into tinkering, get a hold of nlite (assumption kicking in...) it'll let you decide the components of xp that you want to install, and you can effectivley cut out all of the baggage of xp so that its as light as a feather!

my p3 700 runs a modded (LEGAL!) copy of xp, and it takes 400mb of hdd space, and uses 60mb ram, and boots up in 30 secs...

http://www.nliteos.com/nlite.html
freakuency is offline  
Old 10-29-2006, 01:46 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 267
Send a message via AIM to Biggie578
Default

or just windows2k if u dont mind the slow boots. It dosent have that "genuine advantage" so that might be best if he dosent have a legit copy of xp. And 2x512 would be considerably better if you have xtra monies.
__________________

Biggie578 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.