Help!!! Laptop CPU upgrade or should I OC it? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-01-2005, 07:06 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 9
Default Help!!! Laptop CPU upgrade or should I OC it?

Let me start by saying that my computer knowledge is very little. I'm getting more into these computers and it's sort of fun to learn about them.

But, I need some expert advice on how to upgrade my Pro Star 3100C laptop.

I bought this laptop used to use in my patrol car and i'm really wanting to do more than just run warrant and DL checks w/it. On slow nights such as holidays like Christmas and Christmas Eve I would like to watch a DVD or even play a game on it.

Here's the specs on the laptop: It's a ProStar 3100C w/a Celeron 433mhz Celeron cpu w/a 66FSB. But, it will take a P3 CPU as long it has a 66FSB. It's a Socket 370 PCGA or PGCA CPU

Here are my options.

Option 1:I have found a Celeron 733mhz cpu dirt cheap ($10.00). I would like to get a faster CPU such as an 800+mhz CPU but I haven't found any.

Option 2: Take it to someone who can OC the existing 433cpu or add the 733cpu and then OC it.

Option 3: Change the CPU to a P3 and then take it to someone who can OC it.

Option 3: Just change the CPU to a P3 and be happy with that. If so, then which P# w/a 66FSB gives the best performance and will still run games and etc.?

The choices are killing me!!!!!!!!!!!! I'm an old hot rodder who gave up the race car years ago but these computers are sort of like building an old hot rod. But, i'm starting from the ground up when it comes to learning about these darned computers, so keep your answers simple.

Some of the issues are that I can't find a DVD-Rom for it and if I have to use an external one they all seem to require a 900-1GH CPU and I have seen that some of the games also require a 800mhz or higher CPU.

Thanks, SMS.
__________________

OKLACOP is offline  
Old 10-01-2005, 08:15 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

i dont think you can OC it, it the options in the bios are probably locked, and you cant change them.
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 10-01-2005, 10:19 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

I agree. A pre-built laptop (which is pretty much all of them) don't overclock well, if at all. It might be time to e-bay an older laptop with a nice celeron processor in it. That's just my thoughts on the subject.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 10-02-2005, 01:00 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default

If you overclock a laptop you can easily stand to ruin it entirely from the excess heat. That said, upgrading laptop processors are tricky, too. If I were you I'd try and find the part number of a compatible processor and buy one over eBay. Take a look at nicer laptops while you're there, too. Look for something with nicer video built into it and maybe a P3 instead of a celeron.
I would recommend an Inspiron 8100 (same thing I've got). The cpu, memory, and even video are all upgradeable and not very expensive to do so. Find one that you think seems fine for now and you can pump it up later on if need be.
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 10-02-2005, 01:23 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 9
Default

Buying a new laptop is not currently an option that's open to me so i'll have to make do w/the one that I have.

In regards to the OC and cpu changes; The factory manual say's that I can safely upgrade to a P3 but one w/a 66FSB (no limit was printed in the manual on the maximum allowable speeed of the P3 cpu) or a Celeron cpu up to 900mhz as long as it has a 66FSB also.

So, would I be better upgrading to P3 or a Celeron w/a higher cpu rating?

The fastest Celeron w/a 66FSB that I can find is 733mhz. I think the highest P3 w/a 66 FSB that I could find was 600mhz.

Is there a faster P3 than the 600mhz that also has a 66FSB?

A laptop can't safely increase the FSBfrom 66 FSB to say 100FSB?
OKLACOP is offline  
Old 10-02-2005, 09:09 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

it doesnt matter that its a laptop it depends on the hardware in the laptop as to whether you can increase the FSB to 100mhz. just to echo the other guys OC'ing a laptop is not a good idea, as it is they are prone to overheating. i think all PIII's can run with a 66mhz FSB but thats underclocking it (which doesnt really matter because thats what you need). all pIII's either have a 100 or 133mhz FSB.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 10-03-2005, 05:06 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 9
Default

Are you saying that P3 chip that has a 100FSB can actually run correctly at 66FSB?
OKLACOP is offline  
Old 10-03-2005, 05:11 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 9
Default

Oh, I believe this laptop uses a desktop cpu. Does that matter?
OKLACOP is offline  
Old 10-03-2005, 10:34 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

not at all. you should be able to downclock all the way to 66mhz. but if you're lucky ou won't have to because you may be able to force the FSB to 100, but i doubt you'd be able to make 133
Nitestick is offline  
Old 10-04-2005, 06:23 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 469
Default

I would recommed the investment of a new laptop,,, it would give you a better ROI
__________________

__________________
Death has a thousand doors, let's see which one our victim chose.

"There's one thing that you learn on this job, is that human beings are capable of anything"

If you chase two rabbits, you lose them both

You say tomato... I say cause of death
For sale/trade
http://www.techist.com/pc/f40/fully-...r-fs-t-139695/
microsoftne is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.