help ! just bought new ram and now my computer wont boot ! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-26-2007, 06:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
illnastyimpreza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 411
Default help ! just bought new ram and now my computer wont boot !

I just got my new ram in the mail today...i was pyched ! untill I put it in....and my computer only deceted 32mb of system ram !

previously it had 1 stick of samsung 512mb ddr pc 2700 installed

I installed 2 , 1 GB sticks of samsung pc3200 DDR


what is wrong with my computer ??? why wont it work?

I tried taking out the 2nd stick and only running the first one... and its still messed up. Now windows wont even load...


how do I get my computer to recognize the new ram ???
I thought it just automaticly did that...
what should i do !???
__________________

illnastyimpreza is offline  
Old 07-26-2007, 06:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
illnastyimpreza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 411
Default Re: help ! just bought new ram and now my computer wont boot !

i loaded the old ram back in...and it works fine...

how do I get it to recognize the new stuff ??
__________________

illnastyimpreza is offline  
Old 07-26-2007, 06:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 152
Default Re: help ! just bought new ram and now my computer wont boot !

wat is the make and model of ur mobo? sounds like it dosent support it...
__________________
AMD ATHLON 64X2 5200+ DUAL CORE
ASUS M2N-E-SLI
256 DDR3 INNO3D 8600GT
2x1GB PQY DDR2 800MHZ
250GB SEAGATE IDE
320GB WESTERN DIGITAL SATAII
19" LG L194WT WS
ANTEC 900 CASE

AMD ATHLON 64X2 4600+ DUAL CORE
GB GA M555-SLI-S4
256 DDR2 ASUS 7600GT
2X 1GB DDR2 667MHZ
400GB SEAGATE SATAII
GENERIC CASE
joey1 is offline  
Old 07-26-2007, 06:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
illnastyimpreza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 411
Default Re: help ! just bought new ram and now my computer wont boot !

Intel® Desktop Boards - D845PECE

does this mean it only supports ram up to 333mhz ?

**** ....do I'm stuck with pc2700 ???
illnastyimpreza is offline  
Old 07-26-2007, 07:01 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 152
Default Re: help ! just bought new ram and now my computer wont boot !

Quote:
Originally Posted by illnastyimpreza View Post
Intel® Desktop Boards - D845PECE

does this mean it only supports ram up to 333mhz ?

**** ....do I'm stuck with pc2700 ???
seems so!!! says supports ddr 333 and 266, pc 3200 is 400
srry to break the bad news :S mayb return the ram and get 333 ??
__________________
AMD ATHLON 64X2 5200+ DUAL CORE
ASUS M2N-E-SLI
256 DDR3 INNO3D 8600GT
2x1GB PQY DDR2 800MHZ
250GB SEAGATE IDE
320GB WESTERN DIGITAL SATAII
19" LG L194WT WS
ANTEC 900 CASE

AMD ATHLON 64X2 4600+ DUAL CORE
GB GA M555-SLI-S4
256 DDR2 ASUS 7600GT
2X 1GB DDR2 667MHZ
400GB SEAGATE SATAII
GENERIC CASE
joey1 is offline  
Old 07-26-2007, 07:02 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
illnastyimpreza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 411
Default Re: help ! just bought new ram and now my computer wont boot !

crap !

I got it @ partspc.com .....I hope they let me exchange it...
illnastyimpreza is offline  
Old 07-26-2007, 07:21 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
illnastyimpreza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 411
Default Re: help ! just bought new ram and now my computer wont boot !

wow this sucks...I hate my computer.

thats it...
I decided I am going to build my OWN new one....
illnastyimpreza is offline  
Old 07-26-2007, 08:16 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 184
Default Re: help ! just bought new ram and now my computer wont boot !

Sounds like you bought high density ram with out making sure it would work with the MB.... I kinda feel partly responsible, since I was the one who pointed out the slightly cheaper deal for you, but as it turns out, they were high density chips..... Maybe you can get them to refund/replace them with your original choice?

Memory, of all types, should be backwards compatible, if its low density...
__________________
Tech TV is Back!
www.dl.tv
-- watch it, its good stuff.
-------------------------------
AMD Athlon 64 3400+
Powered by: Antec Earth Watts
-------------------------------
ssjheero_yuy99 is offline  
Old 07-26-2007, 08:44 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
illnastyimpreza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 411
Default Re: help ! just bought new ram and now my computer wont boot !

the memory I'm looking @ now is also high density....but its pc2700 333mhz

what does high density mean ?

I wish I had checked out the specs on my mother board first
illnastyimpreza is offline  
Old 07-26-2007, 09:22 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 184
Default Re: help ! just bought new ram and now my computer wont boot !

Read through these two articles/posts.

eBay Australia Guides - Myth Low Density vs High Density memory modules
DDR high and low density?

Edit -- I wish I had read them before recommending the ram as well. I never knew the difference but these helped tell them apart. You can also search google for low density vs high density ram to get a bunch of articles.

Quote:
Originally Posted by illnastyimpreza View Post
I'm going to pick up 2 GB's of ram today. I have pc2700 DDR ram.

now I know I cannot use the DDR2 ram..

but alot of the ram out there is like DDR pc3200 ?

are there any negative effects of buying this over my regular pc2700 ??

I was lookin at getting the samsung pc 2700 DDR , 333mhz Pricewatch ® - 2gb pc2700

is it all going to be the same bus speed ?

anyone have any suggestions ?

thanks !
The stuff you were looking at here does not say its high density... but I would still read the articles, and then call the people you buy from to make sure that it is not. (if you are ordering from partspc.com again anyway).
__________________

__________________
Tech TV is Back!
www.dl.tv
-- watch it, its good stuff.
-------------------------------
AMD Athlon 64 3400+
Powered by: Antec Earth Watts
-------------------------------
ssjheero_yuy99 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.