Help on Hard drive - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-04-2005, 08:34 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 32
Default Help on Hard drive

Hi all
I have just installed a new slave hard drive i set the CMOS to autodect, no problem, machine boots up and it says its there in the device manager and working fine except it hasnt shown up under My Computer. It still only shows my main Drive C, any ideas on why this is happening or have i forgoten to do something?
__________________

pacey9 is offline  
Old 11-04-2005, 09:23 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 158
Default

What Operating System are you running?
What Is the make and model number of the HDD?

Check that the jumpers are set on both the master and the new slave that you put in the computer.

Check to make sure the master is on the end of the cable, and the slave is in the middle of the cable.

Check to make sure the ide cable for your HDD's is in the Primary IDE connector.

If none of those work, it probably wasnt low level formatted at the manufacturer. If thats the case, send it back for a new one, low level formats arent fun, or advised. I highly doubt thats the case, it happens very rarely, but it does happen.

Hope that helps.
__________________

__________________
l
sCribes is offline  
Old 11-04-2005, 09:25 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,706
Default

Probably needs to be partitioned...
Juice Daddy is offline  
Old 11-04-2005, 09:27 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 32
Default

thanks for the replies guys i had not partioned it as all this is new to me so it is presently formating as i type
pacey9 is offline  
Old 11-04-2005, 09:29 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 158
Default

mmm i assumed you would have formatted it, or tried.
__________________
l
sCribes is offline  
Old 11-04-2005, 09:36 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 32
Default

never assume anything when numptys like me are on the forums
hehe
pacey9 is offline  
Old 11-04-2005, 02:16 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,706
Default

so... have you tried to partition it?

If it's new, then you will first have to partition it then it should show up in my computer, after that you can format it...

if you need any help partitioning, pm me
Juice Daddy is offline  
Old 11-04-2005, 03:43 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Cubicle Bunker
Posts: 109
Default

even still...is the slave a ide or sata drive? partitioned or not, it should still show up. something in BIOS isn't correct to allow both channels to be seen
__________________
Dell Precision 670 (3.4GHz DP Xeon, 4GB DDR2, XPSP3)
Dell D800 (1.8GHz, 1GB, XPSP3)

I work with computers, I play FFXI.
vagnozzi is offline  
Old 11-04-2005, 03:47 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,706
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by vagnozzi
even still...is the slave a ide or sata drive? partitioned or not, it should still show up. something in BIOS isn't correct to allow both channels to be seen
maybe I'm wrong, but wouldn't a drive be visible in the bios/post/device manager, but not in the "my computer" folder, as a drive letter unless it's been partitioned?
Juice Daddy is offline  
Old 11-06-2005, 06:57 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 32
Default

i just needed to partition it and formatt etc so i have sorted it now and working great
__________________

pacey9 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.