Help getting sand on my bridge plz - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-25-2011, 10:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 212
Send a message via AIM to jerry5739
Default Help getting sand on my bridge plz

So I'm looking to build a new PC and I currently have a case, 2.5 inch SSD, and CD ROM. So i will not need a case or HDD or CD rom when i purchase this build.

I have heard nothing but good things about the Sandybridge intels, so my question is:
Can anyone help me get a newegg shopping cart together for an intel build under 500 bucks?

A mediocre video card will suffice, most of my use will be just programming (visual studio, SQLserver and such)

Thanks so much everyone !
__________________

__________________
AMD 2700+ @~2.3
ASRock K7Upgrade-880
Corsair Value Select 1024MB DDR400
Kingwin Muntant X Case
eVGA 6600 GT
Seagate 80 GB HD
Allied 420W PSU
jerry5739 is offline  
Old 05-25-2011, 10:54 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,669
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: Help getting sand on my bridge plz

Easy, need a monitor too?
__________________

__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Old 05-26-2011, 11:51 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 212
Send a message via AIM to jerry5739
Default Re: Help getting sand on my bridge plz

No monitor or periphrials needed
__________________
AMD 2700+ @~2.3
ASRock K7Upgrade-880
Corsair Value Select 1024MB DDR400
Kingwin Muntant X Case
eVGA 6600 GT
Seagate 80 GB HD
Allied 420W PSU
jerry5739 is offline  
Old 05-26-2011, 04:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Missouri
Posts: 1,534
Default Re: Help getting sand on my bridge plz

You WILL want to get a hard drive. Running all programs off the SSD will become a nuisance. Running just the OS and most used programs off of the SSD is ideal, and having a secondary storage hard drive, will be best. That what you don't have to constantly delete files and write to the SSD.

For the cheapest DUAL core Sandy Bridge, you're looking to spend at least $200 for just the CPU and motherboard. The cheapest quad is $190 alone.
__________________
ASUS M5A99FX Pro R2.0 : AMD FX 9370 : Corsair H100i GTX Cooler : 16GB Corsair Vengeance Blue 1600 (4x4Gb) : XFX 7970 Ghz 3GB x 2 : PNY XLR8 256GB SSD : Seagate 1TB : Antec True Power Quattro 1000W : Thermaltake G41
95BlackGA is offline  
Old 05-26-2011, 04:51 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Help getting sand on my bridge plz

CPU & Memory - $296.98 - Newegg.com - Computer Parts, PC Components, Laptop Computers, LED LCD TV, Digital Cameras and more!

Mobo & Power Supply - $199.98 - Newegg.com - Computer Parts, PC Components, Laptop Computers, LED LCD TV, Digital Cameras and more!

You'll have to save more money for a video card
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 05-26-2011, 05:26 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 212
Send a message via AIM to jerry5739
Default Re: Help getting sand on my bridge plz

^_^ I like it, those are some good bundles. I have a 120gb HDD laying around and a 6600gt that I could throw in until I can upgrade. Thanks a million.
__________________
AMD 2700+ @~2.3
ASRock K7Upgrade-880
Corsair Value Select 1024MB DDR400
Kingwin Muntant X Case
eVGA 6600 GT
Seagate 80 GB HD
Allied 420W PSU
jerry5739 is offline  
Old 05-26-2011, 07:07 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,669
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: Help getting sand on my bridge plz

Not sure you'll need a 2500k if all you do is code, but good to be future proof. Also, are you comfortable with overclocking? Only get the k series if you're ok with the OC, which btw I think you should always do.
__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Old 05-26-2011, 08:27 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Help getting sand on my bridge plz

It's only about $20 more to get the K series and have the option to overclock. It's worth it, even if you don't overclock now, in a couple years when you think you need another upgrade you'll have one with a simple overclock.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SPARTACUS blood and sand. who watches? Poizen22 Off Topic Discussion 2 12-04-2010 01:19 AM
South Bridge and North Bridge Thermal Paste insaniak New Systems | Building and Buying 7 02-25-2010 08:05 AM
Google Sand box joseph1 SEO and Web Traffic 1 02-08-2008 09:06 AM
Sand Floor? hickfarm Off Topic Discussion 24 09-27-2006 10:43 AM
Prince Of Persia (Sand Of Time) didi PC Gaming 1 08-11-2004 01:46 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.