Help with DVI and SLi - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-10-2006, 12:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 742
Default Help with DVI and SLi

hi, i am building a pc and i am fairly new to this. so far i have amd athlon 3700+ and ASUS 8AN-SLi. but i have a question what is the difference between SLi and regular PCI Express. Also all the graphic or video cards i have looked at have DVI and no VGA output. Is the DVI better or something and how can i get my VGA monitor to hook up to the two DVI ports? thanks
__________________

wtk pro l is offline  
Old 02-10-2006, 12:50 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

Converters are always supplied with the card for VGA.

SLI is having two PCI express video cards hooked up with the supplied bridge. Don't waste money in SLI unles you have won the lottery.
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 02-10-2006, 12:55 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 742
Default

ha ok, thanks. so they really is no need in SLi. it doesnt perform any better?
wtk pro l is offline  
Old 02-10-2006, 12:57 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

It does, but you don't gain enough of a performance increase for paying 200% more.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 02-10-2006, 01:20 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 742
Default

ok i might get it. its only like 20 bucks more. but then again, i wouldnt know how to install my graphics card with the two PCI express ports.
wtk pro l is offline  
Old 02-10-2006, 02:39 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 20
Default

Well, thats the thing.. SLi = 2 Graphics cards. 1 card per PCI-E slot. They are linked with a bridge that slides onto connectors on top of the cards. But don't waste ur money on it.

Your looking at a 30% increase tops with 2 cards. A difference of maybe 15-30 fps.
dubbs is offline  
Old 02-10-2006, 02:59 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 742
Default

ok can i buy the SLi mobo, install one graphics card in the PCI Express then when i have enough money buy another card, and install both of them into two of the Express slots? or will an SLi board only run on two graphics cards. thanks

also is there a huge difference between the athlon 3500+ and the 3700+? it could save me some money so i need to know. thanks for all you guys help.
wtk pro l is offline  
Old 02-10-2006, 03:11 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 20
Default

The mobo can run on 1 card just fine. Yes you can add one later.

Its only a 200 mhz difference. You probably wouldn't even notice the difference. If you wanted you could overclock it to 2.4ghz but I would concentrate on just building the pc and getting it working first.

It depends on the price difference.. I wouldnt pay more then 20$ for a 200 mhz increase.

Try to do some reading and research pc building if you can.
dubbs is offline  
Old 02-10-2006, 03:14 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 742
Default

ok thanks im pretty sure im going to go with the 3500+. but are gigabyte mobo stable for overclocking, i heard MSI or ASUS were much better for overclocking (the CPU). i have talked to some people and they said they often get crashes when they try to oveclock their gigabyte mobos.
wtk pro l is offline  
Old 02-10-2006, 05:28 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

DFI is the king for overclocking, with the top end ASUS A8N mobos in a close second.

The 3700 has 1mb cache where as the 3500 has 512, try and squeeze a 3700 in the budget, but if it means skimping on the PSU or getting a lower powered card then don't.
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.