Help!! Dual Layer DVD Rom? Do I Have One? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-10-2009, 05:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3
Default Help!! Dual Layer DVD Rom? Do I Have One?

Hi there, im a complete noob when it comes to knowledge of dvd burning and dvd rom hardware. Just wondering how i can find out if my dvd rom is capable of dual layer burning?
Also, what is the best software to use to burn dvd material?

Many thanks

Phil
__________________

philcarr24 is offline  
Old 03-10-2009, 05:44 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,773
Default Re: Help!! Dual Layer DVD Rom? Do I Have One?

What make+model is the drive? Go to the device manager (Control panel -> System -> Hardware tab), go to the disk drives category. You'll find your drives there. Tell us what they are.

As for software, personally I use IMGBurn, but there are hundreds of others. A few are mentioned in this stickied thread.
__________________

__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 03-11-2009, 10:57 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3
Default Re: Help!! Dual Layer DVD Rom? Do I Have One?

hitachi HTS541060G9AT00
Thanks
philcarr24 is offline  
Old 03-11-2009, 11:15 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,773
Default Re: Help!! Dual Layer DVD Rom? Do I Have One?

Quote:
Originally Posted by philcarr24 View Post
hitachi HTS541060G9AT00
Thanks
That's a hard drive.

If you can see this image you'll know where to look.
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 03-11-2009, 06:11 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3
Default Re: Help!! Dual Layer DVD Rom? Do I Have One?

oh yeah sorry, its a Optiarc DVD+RW AD 5540A disk drive.

many thank
philcarr24 is offline  
Old 03-11-2009, 06:52 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,773
Default Re: Help!! Dual Layer DVD Rom? Do I Have One?

Apparently it can indeed burn DVD-DLs.

Optiarc AD-5540A
__________________

__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Our Ventrilo Server Is Up And Running! mikesgroovin Off Topic Discussion 237 11-15-2007 09:46 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.