Help configuring the SSD I just bought - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-29-2012, 08:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Druid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3,065
Default Help configuring the SSD I just bought

so I just got a 240GB corsair force 3 ssd. I need help configuring it.

Read this:

Quote:
You are using the wrong driver (pcide). This driver will give you the poorest performance on a SF12xx SSD. Next is the default ms ahci driver followed by the better of the three iaSTOR (Intel's ahci driver.

Not sure if you can update the pcide driver to the iaStor - I had to re-install.

Need to download the Intel RST matrix driver (Ver 9.6 or latter.). You also need to download intel's "F6" driver (Caution, get correct version 32 bit or 64 vit). Put this on a thumbdrive. Install Win 7 custom install. On page where you select where to install windows, look for a little check box for additional drivers (should be lower left side).
from here:

[Solved] Configuring TRIM - ssd - Storage

When attempting to install intel RST, I get: "This computer does not meet the minimum requirements for installing the software."

So I have to put both intel rst and f6 on a floppy and install again? And then I will be optimally configured? And windows isn't seeing my original hdd either. Thanks.
__________________

__________________
CPU: Intel Core i7 920
GPU: ASUS STRIX GTX 970
Ram: 12GB 1600 Mhz DDR3
Mobo: ASUS P6T
PSU: 750W PC Power & Cooling
Druid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2012, 10:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,317
Default Re: Help configuring the SSD I just bought

All you should have to do is enable AHCI in your bios and then format and install Windows.

To see if TRIM is on, all you have to do is open cmd and type this in:
fsutil behavior query DisableDeleteNotify

If 0 then it's on.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2012, 11:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Druid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3,065
Default Re: Help configuring the SSD I just bought

But, I mean, I'm using a slow driver, right? I would have to reinstall with those two things to get the faster drivers, right?
__________________
CPU: Intel Core i7 920
GPU: ASUS STRIX GTX 970
Ram: 12GB 1600 Mhz DDR3
Mobo: ASUS P6T
PSU: 750W PC Power & Cooling
Druid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2012, 12:14 AM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,317
Default Re: Help configuring the SSD I just bought

Driver shouldn't really make all that much of a difference in speed if any at all. The max sequential you're gonna see if 285 both ways because you don't have SATA 3 ports.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2012, 01:19 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Druid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3,065
Default Re: Help configuring the SSD I just bought

Alright, so switched to ahci, and now it goes to the screen where it says it is starting windows. After 5-10 seconds, it flashes a blue screen really fast and then restarts. It continually loops this. I should also mention, windows was taking forever to start up before this and moving at a snail's pace.
__________________
CPU: Intel Core i7 920
GPU: ASUS STRIX GTX 970
Ram: 12GB 1600 Mhz DDR3
Mobo: ASUS P6T
PSU: 750W PC Power & Cooling
Druid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2012, 01:43 AM   #6 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,317
Default Re: Help configuring the SSD I just bought

Did you format and reinstall Windows to your SSD after the switch? You have to or else it wont work. If you are trying to boot from your old HDD after the switch that wont work either.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2012, 08:55 AM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Druid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3,065
Default Re: Help configuring the SSD I just bought

ok, if I gotta reinstall anyway, I might as well install that other stuff. And this is gonna make my hdd be recognized by windows? Thanks
__________________
CPU: Intel Core i7 920
GPU: ASUS STRIX GTX 970
Ram: 12GB 1600 Mhz DDR3
Mobo: ASUS P6T
PSU: 750W PC Power & Cooling
Druid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2012, 11:18 AM   #8 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,516
Default Re: Help configuring the SSD I just bought

You can't switch drive modes in the middle of an install and then just try to boot up . There's drivers you can download / modify to get it to work without reinstalling, but you'd have to lookup how to do that if you wanted to.

Yes, after switching to AHCI in BIOS, you'll have to reinstall and it should be recognized fine.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2012, 11:18 AM   #9 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,317
Default Re: Help configuring the SSD I just bought

Any drive SSD or HDD configured under IDE mode needs to be formatted to be recognized under AHCI.

I wouldn't bother with the other crap personally. I bet for the time wasted there will be no difference seen.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2012, 12:27 PM   #10 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,516
Default Re: Help configuring the SSD I just bought

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
Any drive SSD or HDD configured under IDE mode needs to be formatted to be recognized under AHCI.
Unless you do the driver install / system file tweak that I mentioned earlier. I've done it before on a couple systems just to see if it would work, and it worked fine.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
120GB SSD vs 2X 60GB SSD via RAID 0 llBradll New Systems | Building and Buying 2 02-06-2012 03:35 PM
ocz ssd vs kingston ssd? gordonie Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 11-11-2011 07:28 PM
Can you have a SSD 60GB as a boot drive and a 500GB HDD for storage but have smart response enabled on the SSD? matteuk New Systems | Building and Buying 2 07-27-2011 01:12 PM
mSATA SSD vs SATA SSD Jayce Laptops and Notebooks 1 06-29-2011 10:11 AM
SSD TRIM Function Intel X25 SSD thesilversavers Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 19 05-22-2011 10:04 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.