Help Choosing Motherboard - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-30-2009, 03:06 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
KpCollins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 61
Default Help Choosing Motherboard

ok, Since these part are slightly expensive im going to be getting one at a time.
Just need to know a few things,

Will this Motherboard
Asus M3N-HT Deluxe/Mempipe Nforce 780a SLI Socket AM2+ onboard VGA HDMI audio ATX Motherboard - Ebuyer

As far as I see this Motherboard will work with an AMD 64 X2 Duel Core CPU

Work with my Current Ram
2Gb PC2-6400 DDR2-800 Memory Retail Boxed "Team"
2Gb PC2-6400 DDR2-800 Memory Retail Boxed Team: Amazon.co.uk: Electronics & Photo

and then when I save the cash with this CPU
AMD Phenom X4 965 Black Edition 3.4GHz Socket AM3 8MB L3 Cache Retail Box Processor - Ebuyer
and this Fan
Scythe SCZP-2000 ZIPANG 2 Socket 478/775/754/939/940/AM2/AM3/1156/1366 with 140mm Fan Heatpipe Processor Cooler - Ebuyer


My Current Specs of what I think you would need to know are

750Watt PSU, Xblade Case ( Fits all Motherboards I think )

If you need any other information please ask as I really need all the support you can offer.

Thank You
__________________

KpCollins is offline  
Old 09-30-2009, 03:13 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
NightSurge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2,217
Send a message via AIM to NightSurge
Default Re: Help Choosing Motherboard

That motherboard would not support the Phenom II X4 965. It will support any Athlon 64 X2 and it may support the earliest Phenom II models, but not the later ones which includes the one you have linked.
__________________

__________________

If I was helpful, please click the icon on the left hand side of this message that looks like a check mark Thanks!

NightSurge is offline  
Old 09-30-2009, 03:21 PM   #3 (permalink)
muffin enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: new york
Posts: 2,724
Default Re: Help Choosing Motherboard

is there a specific reason why youd want that mobo?

this would also be a great mobo, and would support the hardware you have and the 965.
ASUS M4A78-E 790GX Socket AM2+ VGA DVI HDMI 8 Channel Audio ATX Motherboard - Ebuyer

edit: actually according to this ASUSTeK Computer Inc. that mobo you picked does support the 965 also, just need to update the bios.
Muffin Man is offline  
Old 09-30-2009, 03:53 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
KpCollins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 61
Default Re: Help Choosing Motherboard

Quote:
Originally Posted by Muffin Man View Post
is there a specific reason why youd want that mobo?

this would also be a great mobo, and would support the hardware you have and the 965.
ASUS M4A78-E 790GX Socket AM2+ VGA DVI HDMI 8 Channel Audio ATX Motherboard - Ebuyer

edit: actually according to this ASUSTeK Computer Inc. that mobo you picked does support the 965 also, just need to update the bios.
Hmm, Ideally im looking for one that will support that chip and run 2 or 3 sli Nvidia GTX 275 GFX cards. But the main priority at the moment is that it will support my Ram, I can always shop for a different chip.
KpCollins is offline  
Old 09-30-2009, 03:58 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
KpCollins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 61
Default Re: Help Choosing Motherboard

Im guessing this Chip

AMD Phenom II X4 940 3GHz Socket AM2+ 6MB L3 Cache Retail Boxed Processor - Ebuyer

Main things i need to know if you can help me please is..

Will my 1st choice of Motherboard ( Asus M3N-HT Deluxe/Mempipe Nforce 780a SLI Socket AM2+ onboard VGA HDMI audio ATX Motherboard - Ebuyer ) run my Current chip
Amd Athlon 62 X2 ( Dunno how to find what Socket ) and will it run my Current ram.
2Gb PC2-6400 DDR2-800 Memory Retail Boxed "Team"

Then will it run the CPU above in this post?
KpCollins is offline  
Old 09-30-2009, 04:08 PM   #6 (permalink)
muffin enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: new york
Posts: 2,724
Default Re: Help Choosing Motherboard

ASUSTeK Computer Inc.

yes, it will.
Muffin Man is offline  
Old 09-30-2009, 06:27 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
KpCollins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 61
Default Re: Help Choosing Motherboard

Quote:
Originally Posted by Muffin Man View Post
ASUSTeK Computer Inc.

yes, it will.
Ok thats good.

1st Ill be getting the motherboard to use with my current chip + ram then Ill be buying the New chip + new fan for it.
__________________

KpCollins is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New motherboard, ram, cpu and dvd drive. WILL IT READ FROM NEW SATA DVD DRIVE evan833 System Upgrades 11 01-14-2009 09:16 PM
No Video At All! [ EVGA 790i Ultra SLI Motherboard. ] Oshikorosu Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 12-31-2008 05:51 PM
which motherboard for new build Redeye New Systems | Building and Buying 10 05-15-2008 08:59 PM
Processor Upgrade for the P4MSD-800 D2 Motherboard Scinadier System Upgrades 7 05-09-2008 02:16 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.