Help Choosing Core 2 Duo CPU - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-03-2007, 02:22 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Location
Posts: 185
Default Help Choosing Core 2 Duo CPU

I will use this computer for
dual boot xp & ubuntu
I multitask a lot but here is the basics
mainly multimedia and p2p, azureus, photoshop, movie maker, itunes, firefox, dvd decrypter, starcraft

I have 2GB RAM, a good video card, etc

I was originally told to get an E6320. Later I was told an E6550, but was also told that this was overkill. But someone said the E6550 was G0 stepping so it would take less power.

I am leaning towards the E6320 as it is cheaper and I don't do much gaming. Having a dedicated video card will be a huge step up in performance I believe so I don't think the CPU will matter as much anymore. I'm used to gaming on integrated video. But the E6550 will make it more future proof won't it? Now this is even worse because the E6750 is only $5 more.
__________________

UsernameTaken is offline  
Old 09-03-2007, 02:23 AM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Help Choosing Core 2 Duo CPU

get the e6750
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 09-03-2007, 02:27 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
TRDCorolla1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: California
Posts: 383
Default Re: Help Choosing Core 2 Duo CPU

^^^^^^ I concur. They are really nice for the price. Cheap as **** too. When I'm not recommending the Q6600's, the E6750 is the next best thing.
__________________
Today is yesterday's future....
TRDCorolla1 is offline  
Old 09-03-2007, 02:35 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Location
Posts: 185
Default Re: Help Choosing Core 2 Duo CPU

I'm not looking to get the best PC I can get, I just want something that will effectively run what I want to run. Also I have a performance copy of XP that was nLited down to 200MB on CD and when installed it's about 1 GB. The performance increase from that is awesome. Should I still get the E6750?
UsernameTaken is offline  
Old 09-03-2007, 02:36 AM   #5 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Help Choosing Core 2 Duo CPU

Yes. Do the performance versions really work? Is it just stripped down?
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 09-03-2007, 02:36 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
TRDCorolla1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: California
Posts: 383
Default Re: Help Choosing Core 2 Duo CPU

It all comes down to how much you want to spend. You can even get buy with an older E6600 if you want.
__________________
Today is yesterday's future....
TRDCorolla1 is offline  
Old 09-03-2007, 02:38 AM   #7 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Help Choosing Core 2 Duo CPU

Quote:
Originally Posted by TRDCorolla1 View Post
It all comes down to how much you want to spend. You can even get buy with an older E6600 if you want.
for more money and less performance?
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 09-03-2007, 02:41 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
TRDCorolla1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: California
Posts: 383
Default Re: Help Choosing Core 2 Duo CPU

I thought the E6600 were suppose to be cheaper than the E6750 but it looks like that's the opposite, lol. I'm surprised that you can get the E6750 for much cheaper. Strange.

Newegg.com - Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 Conroe 2.4GHz 4M shared L2 Cache LGA 775 Processor - Retail

vs

Newegg.com - Intel Core 2 Duo E6750 Conroe 2.66GHz 4M shared L2 Cache LGA 775 Processor - Retail

In this upside down world of computers, isn't it funny how the E6750 outperforms the E6600, yet it's cheaper than the E6600?

Lets kick it up a notch with quad cores

Newegg.com - Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Kentsfield 2.4GHz 2 x 4MB L2 Cache LGA 775 Processor - Retail

About $80 difference.
__________________
Today is yesterday's future....
TRDCorolla1 is offline  
Old 09-03-2007, 02:46 AM   #9 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Help Choosing Core 2 Duo CPU

It true. It's because the pricing for the e6600 hasn't changed yet.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 09-03-2007, 02:50 AM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
TRDCorolla1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: California
Posts: 383
Default Re: Help Choosing Core 2 Duo CPU

In that case, the E6750 is the best deal. I also believe that it uses Go Stepping too. Buy it NOW!!!
__________________

__________________
Today is yesterday's future....
TRDCorolla1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
UnBiased Intel Core 2 Duo Overclocking with Overclocking Test Systems veg1992 Overclocking and Modding 7 11-21-2007 07:24 PM
Can't load XP pro with Core 2 duo e6750 mtslegacy Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 08-14-2007 01:57 AM
AMD Athlon™ 64 X2 Dual Core Processor Utilities & Updates Osiris Overclocking and Modding 6 05-31-2007 01:41 PM
My friends keeps telling me AMD X2 is faster than Core 2 pinoy3000 New Systems | Building and Buying 0 05-23-2007 11:49 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.