HELP- Changing computer for Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-23-2006, 02:21 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 13
Default HELP- Changing computer for Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion

I recently ordered Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion and I know I need a better graphics card and maybe a whole new computer. My question is, what do I need to change, update, or replace in my computer so that it can run Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion, so that it looks pretty good? What type of graphics card should I get/ which cards are better? Do I really need to get a whole new computer? Please can somebody help me!

My Computer Specs Current:
-Dell Dimension 4800
-Pentium 4 Processor 2.66 GHz
-Geforce fx 5200
__________________

alwasy confused is offline  
Old 06-23-2006, 05:32 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 13
Default

My Computer Specs Current:
-Dell Dimension 4800
-Pentium 4 Processor 2.66 GHz
-Geforce fx 5200 AGP 8x
__________________

alwasy confused is offline  
Old 06-23-2006, 11:12 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

Whats your budget on upgrading?

1GB, 7600GT will play it smoothly (unless you have slow hard drive)
turtile is offline  
Old 06-23-2006, 11:24 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

I second that; however if you really want a good gaming experience get a whole new machine.
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 06-23-2006, 01:31 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
MrCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858
Default

If you want the full experiance from oblivion then I'd recommend no less than an PR3800 processor with 1gb of fast ram (good CL for what ever the bus speed is) and a 7900GT.
__________________
Intel core I7 920
GA-EX58-UD3R
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Old 06-23-2006, 08:10 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 13
Default THANKS FOR FEEDBACK

Thanks for all the help! The following should clear up some questions, and i have a few of my own.

(I HOPE) Full Specs:

-Memory (RAM): 512

-Processor Speed: 2.60 GHz

-Primary Video Contoller: AGP

-Clock Speed: 2.66 GHz ----- What the **** is this?

-Bus Speed 533 Ghz

-System Memory Speed: 333 Ghz

-System Memory Channel Mode: Dual

-Installed System Memory: 512 MB DDR SDRAM

-Cache Size: 512 kb

-Processor INtel(R) Pentium(R) 4CPU 2.66 GHz

-AGP Aperture: 128 MB------It allows me to change it to 256 MB, should I?



I have just a few more qestions to ask.

-If I plan to spend around $200 on a graphics card whcih one should I get?

-How much will changing the RAM to 1GB cost? Should I go higher then 1 GB?

-Is my Processor good enough at 2.66 GHz?

-What kind of Power supply should I get?

- What other things should I adress?
alwasy confused is offline  
Old 06-24-2006, 02:13 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 13
Default

I've decided to change my whole computer and I already picked these parts:

-AX450-PN, 12cm FAN, version 2.0, 2 SATA, PCI Express, 450W Power Supply
-Masscool AMD New K8 Cooling Fan for Socket 754/939 5F531B1M3CG
-Samsung DDR 400MHz 256MB (PC 3200) 184Pin Memory, Non-ECC, OEM
-SAPPHIRE 100152SR Radeon X850PRO 256MB 256-bit GDDR3 VIVO AGP 4X/8X Video Card

What else do I need?
alwasy confused is offline  
Old 06-24-2006, 10:18 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

i don't recommend ANY of those changes you posted. what is your total allocated budget towards this upgrade? some ppl are good at finding good balance of price/performance
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 06-24-2006, 10:33 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 13
Default Not Sure

I know I either have to update my whole system or get a new one. The only price I've set so far is around $200 for a new graphics card. I know my RAM, and possibly my power source have to be updated. But, I'm sure there are other things.

If you don't know here are my current specs:
-Memory (RAM): 512
-Processor Speed: 2.60 GHz
-Primary Video Contoller: AGP
-Clock Speed: 2.66 GHz
-Bus Speed 533 Ghz
-System Memory Speed: 333 Ghz
-System Memory Channel Mode: Dual
-Installed System Memory: 512 MB DDR SDRAM
-Cache Size: 512 kb
-Processor INtel(R) Pentium(R) 4CPU 2.66 GHz
-AGP Aperture: 128 MB
alwasy confused is offline  
Old 06-24-2006, 10:37 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

yes i've seen your specs 3 times already. at 533ghz your bus beat out IBM but you managed to do it at room temperature, congrats.

what socket is your processor?

$200 for gpu is good, but how much would you be willing to spend on the rest? make up a budget... if its a lot, we can go for new mobo/proc. ; if not, then we'll stick with agp and see what we can do..
__________________

__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.