help a builder out - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-12-2006, 06:14 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 360
Default help a builder out

ok this not my first time buidling a pc but lately i have been experincing some problems i have never encountered before when building pcs i get that the pc is now entering power saving mode what does this mean?it wont even boot up it just goes like into a sleep mode and only way to get it out of it is to shut it off.what can i do to fix this problem i need help ASAP
__________________

ITZBVAN005 is offline  
Old 06-12-2006, 06:40 PM   #2 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,403
Default

check all your cables and connections... sounds like something is not conected all the way. if you have a floppy, check that. I know I have the hardest time trying to get those stupid pins to line up sometimes... if not then check all the connections again... then reseat your video card and try again.... if not then reset the CMOS (pull the battery if need be for about 15 minutes or so) the try again...
__________________

__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 06-12-2006, 06:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

could be a weak powersupply and too many things plugged in
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 06-12-2006, 09:10 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 360
Default

do u think a 550 watt psu will be enuff to power a video card thats 128 mb,a fd,a dvd burner,and a cd burner the processor is a amd sempron 64 bit
ITZBVAN005 is offline  
Old 06-12-2006, 09:20 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

yes I have a 550 watt PSU and 2 dvd writers, 2 hard drives, 1 floppy drive, PCI card and a 6800GT. So yes your PSU should be fine.

Go back to basics unplug everything then slowly bit by bit add things. Add video card and ram then turn on. check if that works. If it does then proceed adding wires. Make sure your USB wires are correctly positioned, so not upside down.
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.