Help with AMD Athlon 1.05GHz - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-05-2007, 07:06 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 132
Default Help with AMD Athlon 1.05GHz

I have an older computer that I use in my office to run Microsoft Office and internet operations. It has 512 of RAM. Is it worth buying another 512 of ram for $69 to keep it running? What other options do I have if I want to upgrade it economically?
__________________

__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 SLACR
Gigabyte P-35 DS3R
Crucial Ballistic 4gb (4 X 1gb) 240 Pin DDR2 800
750 GB SATA-II Western Digital (2X) RAID-0 Stripe
EVGA 8800GTS 320MB
Lite On Black 20X DVD SATA
Corsair 520W Power Supply
Antec 900 Black Steel ATX Mid Tower Case
Tunic Tower 120 P4 & K8 CPU Cooler
Artic Silver 5 Thermal Compound
Microsoft Windows Vista Ultimate 64Bit Retail
Mouse Logitech Revised G5
Samsung 226BW Black 22" DVI WideScreen
ATI TV Wonder 650
Logitech Z-5300e Speaker System
MacDaddyGator is offline  
Old 11-05-2007, 09:11 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Help with AMD Athlon 1.05GHz

yeah, another 512MB RAM and it'll run very well.

If it's only going to be used for office, with XP and 1GB RAM, you could probably set paging file to around 256MB or even disable it. Then it'll run quite fast.
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 11-05-2007, 09:14 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 132
Default Re: Help with AMD Athlon 1.05GHz

I have been reading some websites that seem to say the 512mb is sufficient. Will I have an actual benefit with 1GB?
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 SLACR
Gigabyte P-35 DS3R
Crucial Ballistic 4gb (4 X 1gb) 240 Pin DDR2 800
750 GB SATA-II Western Digital (2X) RAID-0 Stripe
EVGA 8800GTS 320MB
Lite On Black 20X DVD SATA
Corsair 520W Power Supply
Antec 900 Black Steel ATX Mid Tower Case
Tunic Tower 120 P4 & K8 CPU Cooler
Artic Silver 5 Thermal Compound
Microsoft Windows Vista Ultimate 64Bit Retail
Mouse Logitech Revised G5
Samsung 226BW Black 22" DVI WideScreen
ATI TV Wonder 650
Logitech Z-5300e Speaker System
MacDaddyGator is offline  
Old 11-05-2007, 09:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Help with AMD Athlon 1.05GHz

Quote:
Originally Posted by MacDaddyGator View Post
I have been reading some websites that seem to say the 512mb is sufficient. Will I have an actual benefit with 1GB?
yes.

512MB is sufficient to run it "okay", but 1GB will make it run faster. Especially with paging file lowered or disabled.

considering the price of RAM, it's worth it IMO.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 11-06-2007, 02:20 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 132
Default Re: Help with AMD Athlon 1.05GHz

Thanks. I will order it today.
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 SLACR
Gigabyte P-35 DS3R
Crucial Ballistic 4gb (4 X 1gb) 240 Pin DDR2 800
750 GB SATA-II Western Digital (2X) RAID-0 Stripe
EVGA 8800GTS 320MB
Lite On Black 20X DVD SATA
Corsair 520W Power Supply
Antec 900 Black Steel ATX Mid Tower Case
Tunic Tower 120 P4 & K8 CPU Cooler
Artic Silver 5 Thermal Compound
Microsoft Windows Vista Ultimate 64Bit Retail
Mouse Logitech Revised G5
Samsung 226BW Black 22" DVI WideScreen
ATI TV Wonder 650
Logitech Z-5300e Speaker System
MacDaddyGator is offline  
Old 11-06-2007, 08:42 PM   #6 (permalink)
Corrupt Techie
 
aetherh4cker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 752
Default Re: Help with AMD Athlon 1.05GHz

Quote:
Originally Posted by Apokalipse View Post
yes.

512MB is sufficient to run it "okay", but 1GB will make it run faster. Especially with paging file lowered or disabled.

considering the price of RAM, it's worth it IMO.
Why is it better to have the paging file disabled? I thought it was only used when regular RAM was all being used up...
aetherh4cker is offline  
Old 11-06-2007, 10:51 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Help with AMD Athlon 1.05GHz

Quote:
Originally Posted by aetherh4cker View Post
Why is it better to have the paging file disabled?
Because RAM is much, much faster than hard drives are. And if you have enough RAM to load everything without having to use paging file, then why would you use it?

Quote:
I thought it was only used when regular RAM was all being used up...
Actually, Paging file is often used even before RAM is used up. I don't know why it is, but it makes things slower.


I have 2GB of RAM in my system, and I disable paging file completely. It's just much more responsive, and much faster when loading and running games, such as Battlefield 2, Command and Conquer 3 etc.
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD Athlon X2 6000+ and DFI Lanparty NF590-SLI For Sale synergy Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 1 11-05-2007 03:57 PM
AMD Athlon X2 5000+ Black Edition: Unlocked Multiplier for less than $150!! veg1992 New Systems | Building and Buying 11 10-22-2007 07:00 PM
overclock 3300+ AMD athlon 64 D-Rocks Overclocking and Modding 3 09-30-2007 11:03 AM
AMD Triple Core? Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 09-19-2007 07:36 PM
amd athlon 64 X2 4200+ overclock Norcent Overclocking and Modding 37 09-16-2007 08:58 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.