help... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-22-2006, 01:06 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 100
Send a message via AIM to theprofessor17
Default help...

any suggestions on how to get a bigger fps and a lower ping on cs:s?
__________________

theprofessor17 is offline  
Old 01-22-2006, 01:14 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

lower ping: get a better network/internet connection
bigger fps: overclock, or get better hardware
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-22-2006, 01:21 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 100
Send a message via AIM to theprofessor17
Default

how do you all of a sudden just overclock is there a software or something?
theprofessor17 is offline  
Old 01-22-2006, 01:30 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

to overclock your CPU, take a look at this guide
and to overclock your video card, use a program called Rivatuner (universal) or coolbits (Nvidia only)

to use Rivatuner, once it is installed:

from there, move the sliders, test, then apply.
then test it using a program like 3dmark03 or 3dmark05 to make sure it runs okay.
if it begins to artifact, put it down a bit.
once you're happy, check the box to apply settings at startup.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-22-2006, 08:20 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 132
Default

You could also try changing your rates in CSS, you will need to use the console for this, you can enable it by going to options > keyboard > advance, and then tick the box where it says "enable developer console" then click apply. After that the button under escape should open the console.

In the console type:
cl_cmdrate 100
cl_updaterate 100
rate 20000

Those are the rates i use, and all my clan members use aswell.
__________________
  • AMD Athlon 64 3700+ San Diego
  • MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum nForce3 Ultra
  • TwinMos 1GB PC3200 Dual Channel
  • HIS Excalibur ATI Radeon X800 XL ICEQII 256MB
  • Dell 19\" UltraSharp TFT
  • Razer Diaomondback
  • Pioneer DVD-RW
  • Asus TA-210 Case
http://www.ko-clan.net/Fury_Sig.jpg
fury36 is offline  
Old 01-22-2006, 09:53 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

What does that do?
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 01-22-2006, 07:02 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 100
Send a message via AIM to theprofessor17
Default

i dont get thoes rates... they dont improve the game for me at all or maybe im just doing it wrong
theprofessor17 is offline  
Old 01-22-2006, 07:13 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,486
Default

You can turn down your settings/resoultion to get more fps.
__________________

Vybuni is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.