Help on ~$800 comp - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-05-2006, 06:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 11
Default Help on ~$800 comp

I'm looking for a gaming computer on a budget of around $800, and while I swore I'd never buy another dell, while messing around on their site I found this deal, and was wondering if I'm just missing something?

Windows XP Media Center Edition
Pentium D Processor 820 w/Dual Core Technology (2.80GHz, 800FSB)
256MB nVidia Geforce 7300LE TurboCache
2GB Dual Channel DDR2 SDRAM at 533MHz
250GB Serial ATA 3Gb/s Hard Drive (7200RPM) w/ 8MB cache
Integrated Sound Blaster Audigy HD Software Edition
No monitor/speakers
=$865

If anyone could give some advice on why this is a bad deal or could give me some advice on where else to look, it would be much appreciated.
__________________

ephriam is offline  
Old 08-05-2006, 07:15 PM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

The problems with this:

1) It's still a Dell.

2) It's an Intel Pentium.

3) Seriously underpowered graphics card... barely over integrated.

4) Too high a price to not include more.

Do you have a current computer? What is it? Maybe it can be upgraded, or at least parts can be scavenged to save you some dough when you build.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 08-05-2006, 07:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

that 7300LE sounds so cool cuz it has "turbocache" in it.. makes it sound like a rocket

but... you can definitely do MUCH BETTER by building your own

as trotter already said, tell us what your comp is so we can tell you what you can scavenge...
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 08-05-2006, 07:58 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 11
Default

I'm not sure what the spec on my 'current' computer is as it bit the big one a few days ago. It was basically a Dell Dimension 8200 (4-5 years old). I figured I had found another gyp at dell.

If anyone could post a gaming computer build (preferably one I wouldn't have to put together myself) for around $800, it would be most appreciated.
ephriam is offline  
Old 08-05-2006, 08:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

if you want best bang for your buck, then you'd have to build it yourself...
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 08-05-2006, 08:59 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 413
Default

What alia said, its very very easy dude! theres a picture-picture tutorial on the forums on how to build a computer as well, and the person does a great job. It especially(sp?) goes smooth when your case comes with screwless~ bays, you just slide in the harddrive/cd drive and slide over the lever to lock the drives in. If you go prebuilt, dont go with monarch, I hear they are very bad with everything, somebody posted about his h3ll time with them in anothe section. With all that said, just build one yourself mate. If you decide to build it yourself, the case in my sig centurion 5, comes with screwless bays and is a very nice case for a beginner builder, and the fans do a great job keeping my system cool(which would be a lot like your build if you go w/ $800)

edit: heres the who picture by picture tutorial for building a pc, look it over, see if you think you have what it takes :P

http://www.techist.com/showthread.ph...hreadid=108120
Ksingler is offline  
Old 08-05-2006, 09:33 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

here's another good guide.. very detailed!

http://sysbuild.corsairmemory.com/report.aspx?id=2

as for your parts... i'll give a list of what kind of parts you should look at..
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 08-05-2006, 09:55 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

k.. here's a decent system...

X2 3800+ AM2
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103735

asus am2n-e
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131022

msi 7900gt
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814127218

2gb gskill
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231084

seagate HD
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822148107

FSP psu
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817104954

coolermaster case (the one ksingler mentioned)
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811119077

total: $829.45 + shipping - $30 mail in rebate

edit: OUCH! you live in tennessee.. so you're gonna pay tax as well! (cali, tenn, NJ pay tax from newegg)

maybe look for these parts at zipzoomfly.com

or go on pricegrabber.com and look for sites through there...
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 08-06-2006, 01:31 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 11
Default

Thanks for the replies. Couldn't navigate through that Monarch site anyways. I think I will give building it myself a try; I'll give those links you two posted a reading, thanks a bunch.
ephriam is offline  
Old 08-06-2006, 02:45 AM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

ya.. looks like i forgot to put an optical drive.. but you could just get it from your old comp.. unless you want to keep your old system intact.. then you could just buy a dvd-rw for like $30 from newegg.. nec or liton are good..
__________________

__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.