Hello! Need Help Upgrading Mobo and Processor. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-21-2009, 04:28 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 20
Default Hello! Need Help Upgrading Mobo and Processor.

I want to upgrade my computer a Gateway Official Site: Shop - Desktops LX6200-01 Product Details - LX 6200 01 Product Details processor to a Newegg.com - AMD Phenom II X4 940 Deneb 3.0GHz 4 x 512KB L2 Cache 6MB L3 Cache Socket AM2+ 125W Quad-Core Black Edition Processor - Processors - Desktops and it has a combo so might as well get a new mobo. To this Newegg.com - Computer Parts, PC Components, Laptop Computers, Digital Cameras and more! . But if I upgrade my mobo and processor do I have to reinstall my Windows Vista 64 bit? Because it didn't come with a backup disc. How can I backup my OS? Do I have to buy a new vista?
__________________

Brock-Lee is offline  
Old 01-21-2009, 09:55 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 31
Default Re: Hello! Need Help Upgrading Mobo and Processor.

no you shouldn't have to reinstall vista because it's on the hard drive already
__________________

lonz358 is offline  
Old 01-21-2009, 10:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Long Island, NY, USA
Posts: 881
Send a message via AIM to Ethan_Kaizer Send a message via MSN to Ethan_Kaizer
Default Re: Hello! Need Help Upgrading Mobo and Processor.

Quote:
Originally Posted by lonz358 View Post
no you shouldn't have to reinstall vista because it's on the hard drive already
That's incorrect. Upon changing the motherboard, it's most likely you'll need to reinstall Vista, because the bios settings will be different, as well as drivers and things. A repair install might work, but highly unlikely. Good choice of parts though.

You don't have to buy a new Vista, you can just maybe borrow a disc from someone and reuse your serial key, or torrent a legal, uncracked version.
__________________
||Core 2 Duo E4600 @ 2.4 GHz (OC coming soon) || Biostar TP45HP || 4GB Kingston DDR2 667 RAM ||
Sapphire HD 4670 512mb @778/1140 || Antec Trio 650w || Maxtor 250gb 7200 RPM HDD || Lite-On DVD-RW || Black Aluminum Case||
Ethan_Kaizer is offline  
Old 01-22-2009, 12:19 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 31
Default Re: Hello! Need Help Upgrading Mobo and Processor.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ethan_Kaizer View Post
That's incorrect. Upon changing the motherboard, it's most likely you'll need to reinstall Vista, because the bios settings will be different, as well as drivers and things. A repair install might work, but highly unlikely. Good choice of parts though.

You don't have to buy a new Vista, you can just maybe borrow a disc from someone and reuse your serial key, or torrent a legal, uncracked version.
aww that sucks for me because im getting a new mobo and cpu within a week and I thought the hdd would just work right away with the mobo.....what makes it even worst is that I dont have a repair cd
lonz358 is offline  
Old 01-22-2009, 02:42 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 20
Default Re: Hello! Need Help Upgrading Mobo and Processor.

Serial Key? What do you mean? Mine didn't come with a vista cd. It had vista preinstalled. So I guess I have to buy a new Vista too? Oh, well thanks anyway.
Brock-Lee is offline  
Old 01-22-2009, 03:01 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
NightSurge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2,217
Send a message via AIM to NightSurge
Default Re: Hello! Need Help Upgrading Mobo and Processor.

Your computer has a sticker that will say Genuine Windows Vista 64-bit and have a serial key on that sticker. It will be on the tower somewhere. That is the key he is referring to. You should be able to borrow an OEM disc and re-use your serial key from that sticker rather than need to buy a new one.
__________________

If I was helpful, please click the icon on the left hand side of this message that looks like a check mark Thanks!

NightSurge is offline  
Old 01-23-2009, 11:41 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 178
Default Re: Hello! Need Help Upgrading Mobo and Processor.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ethan_Kaizer View Post
That's incorrect. Upon changing the motherboard, it's most likely you'll need to reinstall Vista, because the bios settings will be different, as well as drivers and things.
Are you sure about this? I mean sure he will have to reinstall mobo drivers and what not but I just changed my mobo with XP and did not have to reinstall my OS at all. I guess it is a different story with Vista?
__________________

Domestic is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
which mobo for intel7300 processor 2.66ghz kalki New Systems | Building and Buying 17 01-05-2009 09:45 PM
Upgrading RAM from 2gb > 4gb and mobo compatibility rayzolight System Upgrades 6 12-03-2008 02:44 PM
amd x2 2.4ghz to x2 3.1ghz OR New mobo and processor stell4r New Systems | Building and Buying 12 09-24-2008 08:06 PM
WTB Processor for LGA 775 MOBO DerekGoodson Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 3 06-06-2007 07:55 PM
Suggest a Mobo and Processor For What I Want to build spikoman69 New Systems | Building and Buying 7 04-10-2007 01:10 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.