Hello, Could use to help with my upgrading. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-08-2011, 06:30 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 2
Default Hello, Could use to help with my upgrading.

Hello Forum, I'm new here and pretty new to upgrading/building. I've got a stock Compaq Presario SG3500, It's 5 years old and its just not cutting it for gaming these days. The video card fryed so I'm using a even older video card. I cant afford a new rig so I'm looking to upgrade a bit and not sure where to start. I have a very small budget around $300. Any help is much Appreciated.

AMD athlon Le-1640 2.7GHz
MCP61PM-HM (Iris8) Motherboard
2g of ram
Radeon x600 256mb
250w power supply
160g hd


I'm not looking to play Crysis or anything High-end Gaming. Just the casual World of Warcraft, Counter strike, L4d. Once again thanks for the help ;D

If you see anything wrong please let me know, I'm not great with pcs so the specs might be off a bit.
__________________

klumpia is offline  
Old 06-08-2011, 06:43 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
MyGodAL3X's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Ottawa, ON, Canada
Posts: 460
Default Re: Hello, Could use to help with my upgrading.

if you want to upgrade your video card you will first need to upgrade your power supply, seeing as it is only 250W
You can get a HD Radeon 5770, which is still a budget video card that gives good performance
__________________

MyGodAL3X is offline  
Old 06-08-2011, 06:43 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
MyGodAL3X's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Ottawa, ON, Canada
Posts: 460
Default Re: Hello, Could use to help with my upgrading.

but that is of course if your case and motherboard can support such a big card
MyGodAL3X is offline  
Old 06-08-2011, 06:48 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 2
Default Re: Hello, Could use to help with my upgrading.

My case is very small i would have to check if it would fit. A new power supplys to support a Radeon 5770, Is there anything else i could improve gaming wise?
klumpia is offline  
Old 06-08-2011, 10:17 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 9
Default ram

You could also improve the memory. If you are running a 32 bit I would go with 4 gigs of ram any more than that you are wasting money
GrahamFX is offline  
Old 06-08-2011, 10:44 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
MyGodAL3X's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Ottawa, ON, Canada
Posts: 460
Default Re: Hello, Could use to help with my upgrading.

yup +1 on new RAM
Your CPU, is it single core?
MyGodAL3X is offline  
Old 06-08-2011, 01:00 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 3
Default Re: Hello, Could use to help with my upgrading.

geforce has some nice budget video cards but your power supply needs an upgrade to get going
__________________

g.i.joe90 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrading ram Demalii New Systems | Building and Buying 10 01-02-2009 05:52 PM
I'm upgrading my ram samuelleeb New Systems | Building and Buying 2 12-13-2008 08:58 PM
Upgrading My PC adamr100 New Systems | Building and Buying 12 06-13-2007 03:09 PM
Need some help in upgrading rygiz System Upgrades 18 12-09-2005 11:00 PM
Upgrading PC Kazo0 New Systems | Building and Buying 8 10-26-2005 09:42 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.