Which HDD should I use? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-08-2008, 03:28 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 999
Default Re: Which HDD should I use?

The best hard drive is having 2 identical drives in a mirrored raid 1 array.
__________________

KurrentEweser is offline  
Old 11-08-2008, 04:44 PM   #12 (permalink)
Seg Fault'n
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The dried husk where America came from
Posts: 5,801
Default Re: Which HDD should I use?

Quote:
Originally Posted by KurrentEweser View Post
The best hard drive is having 2 identical drives in a mirrored raid 1 array.
RAID 1 is aweful. Only supports 2 drives, 1/2 usable capacity/total capacity, it will only survive 1 drive failure and performance is worse than a single drive
__________________

__________________


There are in order of increasing severity: lies, darn lies, statistics, and computer benchmarks. - diskinfo man page
"Get your money and let's go to court!" - Craig Mudie, MS
kmote is offline  
Old 11-08-2008, 09:19 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 6
Default Re: Which HDD should I use?

Well I guess, I will buy a Samsung or a WD, thanks for your attention.
zerokid51 is offline  
Old 11-08-2008, 09:47 PM   #14 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: Which HDD should I use?

Samsung spinpoint is where its at...

look for 7200.11 hdd's
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 11-09-2008, 12:55 AM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 6
Default Re: Which HDD should I use?

Well about 7200.11 hdd's, I don't think I will need so much space... but thanks for the advice anyway
zerokid51 is offline  
Old 11-13-2008, 09:17 PM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: somewhere in my own little World
Posts: 6
Default Re: Which HDD should I use?

Quote:
I do disagree that all hard drive manufacturers are the same. That's like saying all monitor manufacturers are the same, just different resolutions. (SapperX)
Not all HDD's are equal. Western Digital's are only good for holding a stack of papers on my desk in the summer when the ceiling fan is on. I've had 6 WD's die. Not a single Seagate has died on me. You are right on one thing, SapperX. Not all drives are equal. Buy a Seagate, and buy a big Seagate.

Sarah McPherson
sarap is offline  
Old 11-13-2008, 11:07 PM   #17 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: Which HDD should I use?

funny u mention that.... my only seagate hard drive i've ever owned, a 320gb 16mb cache has died on me..

while 2 250gb western digitals (not in my build) is doing great!
also a 74gb raptor i've sold to a friend, doing marvalously!
and 2 old ide western digital hard drives, at least 5 years old... are both still running excellent condition
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 11-13-2008, 11:24 PM   #18 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Which HDD should I use?

Quote:
Originally Posted by sarap View Post
Not all HDD's are equal. Western Digital's are only good for holding a stack of papers on my desk in the summer when the ceiling fan is on. I've had 6 WD's die. Not a single Seagate has died on me. You are right on one thing, SapperX. Not all drives are equal. Buy a Seagate, and buy a big Seagate.

Sarah McPherson
That is funny. I have had more Seagate die on me over the years than WD. So if they are so much better can you explain that to me?

Over the years i have had at least 12 Seagate drives die on me. WD i have only had about 3. I have 3 WD HDD's in my system now that i have used daily for the past 5 years.

Sorry your suggestion on this doesnt add up to me...
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 11-15-2008, 12:34 PM   #19 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Silver Creek, GA
Posts: 3
Default Re: Which HDD should I use?

HDD's are so cheap nowadays that theres really no since in buying just a 250GB HD when for just a few bucks more you can get a 500GB. I've used the Seagate Barracuda for years now and have never had a serious problem with any of them. Maybe I've gotten lucky buy they are a very high quality hard drive.
I recommend the Newegg.com - Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 ST3500320AS 500GB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - Internal Hard Drives

500 GB of storage is enough for anyone except the most hard core movie or song downloader. Again, having 2 hard drives is the best way to go as other people have said but if its not in your budget a 500gb is the next best thing.

Joey
joeyll is offline  
Old 11-15-2008, 09:21 PM   #20 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: Which HDD should I use?

i went through 320gb's pretty fast!!!! its easy to take up all that space these days with games taking up 5+gb of space each!
__________________

__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HDD issue!! *please help me* SirCyber Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 13 08-23-2008 10:09 PM
How to made XP add SATA-II HDD to hardware list ? goo_lu Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 02-23-2008 12:00 PM
C zone of IBM/Hitachi HDD SalvationDATA Laptops and Notebooks 0 12-27-2007 02:04 AM
HDD configuration with Windows XP- an odd question Kisskerven New Systems | Building and Buying 6 10-20-2007 08:56 PM
HDD crash leo572 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 09-30-2007 10:35 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.