hdd question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-04-2006, 06:07 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 18
Send a message via AIM to Ffilc7
Default hdd question

planning on using WD Raptor as a system drive and a Caviar for storage...just wondering how large of a drive is required to run XP (and vista when it comes) efficiently...thanks.
__________________

Ffilc7 is offline  
Old 06-04-2006, 06:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

Nothing too large

Quote:
Here's What You Need to Use Windows XP Professional
•

PC with 300 megahertz or higher processor clock speed recommended; 233 MHz minimum required (single or dual processor system);* Intel Pentium/Celeron family, or AMD K6/Athlon/Duron family, or compatible processor recommended
•

128 megabytes (MB) of RAM or higher recommended (64 MB minimum supported; may limit performance and some features)
•

1.5 gigabytes (GB) of available hard disk space*
•

Super VGA (800 x 600) or higher-resolution video adapter and monitor
•

CD-ROM or DVD drive
•

Keyboard and Microsoft Mouse or compatible pointing device

Quote:
* Actual requirements will vary based on your system configuration and the applications and features you choose to install. Additional available hard disk space may be required if you are installing over a network
So anything over 10GB's would suffice
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 06-04-2006, 06:15 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 219
Default

vista is meant to take up 10GB i think
xp needs probably 2gb for system files and a further 2gb or so for virtual memory.

i think the 36gb raptor will be fine.
__________________
AMD 3000+
2gb RAM
X800 PCI-e
80gb + 250gb WD HDDs
X-FI Xtreme Music
DVD/CD-RW Drive
IfYouHaveToAsk is offline  
Old 06-04-2006, 06:22 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 18
Send a message via AIM to Ffilc7
Default

thx...newegg here i come.
Ffilc7 is offline  
Old 06-04-2006, 07:23 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

the Raptor will be good for XP (in terms of storage space, and speed)

personally I'd get a Seagate for the second drive though
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 06-04-2006, 08:54 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 58
Send a message via Yahoo to Edward
Default

Vista will take 15 GB from what I understand.
__________________
(\\__/) This is Bunny. Put him in your
(=\'.\'=) signature and help him on his way
(\")_(\") to world domination
Edward is offline  
Old 06-04-2006, 11:21 PM   #7 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

I actually have Windows installed on a 36GB Raptor, as well as some other hard drive hungry programs (some games, and photoshop). There is enough room to go around
__________________

__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.