HDD Partioning - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-23-2006, 01:16 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
cliffhucker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Silly Valley
Posts: 298
Default HDD Partioning

I am building my system right now ! and want to know about partioning.
I have a 250GB drive.
How much should I allocate to XP Pro?
Should I make like 5 50GB partitions?
Are there draw backs to this?

Thanks
__________________

cliffhucker is offline  
Old 03-23-2006, 02:42 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

ya, u can go with it, but u can only make more than 8GB primary on NTFS, and not FAT32. it wont be like 250 exactlly, but after partitioningm u'll get around 238GB's so divie this into 5
__________________

__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 03-23-2006, 03:42 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
cliffhucker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Silly Valley
Posts: 298
Default HDD partition

Blind_Arrow,

Thanks,

But is 1/5th to much for XP-PRO? When I partition for the OS is it just for the application that I install or is for the app and updates etc?

I do not want to make it to big or I'd be wasting space ; would't I?

Thanks
cliffhucker is offline  
Old 03-23-2006, 05:10 AM   #4 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

It depends on how much you want to install on the Windows partition. If you are going to install all programs on another partition I would still allocate at least 5 GB to the Windows partition. Also keep in mind the page file will occupy some of the space. You can move the page file to another partition if you are getting low on space.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 03-23-2006, 05:14 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

Quote:
but after partitioningm u'll get around 238GB's
more like 232.830643654 GB
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 03-23-2006, 05:35 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 417
Default

i have like a 32gb partition for windows, but i install all my prgrams an games on there, i imagined it would make them run better being in the same partition as windows, but if im wrong there someone please! correct me! so that i can fix it up.

I wouldnt make 5 partitions, maybe one for music an 2 or maybe 3 more,

iv got 2 hard drives, only one is partitioned. my 150gb is where i put all my media, and the other one is for setups for programs, and all my games. the 3rd obviously, for windows and apps.
__________________

sig made by pzerofgh
PCmark04 - 5192
3Dmark05 - 4068
Todd0 is offline  
Old 03-23-2006, 05:46 AM   #7 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Todd0
i have like a 32gb partition for windows, but i install all my prgrams an games on there, i imagined it would make them run better being in the same partition as windows, but if im wrong there someone please! correct me! so that i can fix it up.

I wouldnt make 5 partitions, maybe one for music an 2 or maybe 3 more,

iv got 2 hard drives, only one is partitioned. my 150gb is where i put all my media, and the other one is for setups for programs, and all my games. the 3rd obviously, for windows and apps.
You wouldn't notice the difference. It should run slightly faster if it is on the first partition on the disk. The better alternative would be to install the games on a dedicated disk.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 03-23-2006, 07:35 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 417
Default

hmmm ok, thankyou major
__________________

__________________

sig made by pzerofgh
PCmark04 - 5192
3Dmark05 - 4068
Todd0 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.