hdd - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-09-2012, 05:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 37
Default hdd

I just bought a Coolermaster haf 912 and now I'm looking for a harddrive.
I know this is probably a dumb question but what kinds of hard drives does it support, sata, IDE ?
__________________

pcbuilder is offline  
Old 01-09-2012, 05:39 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: hdd

Your case can support any hard drive. It is your motherboard that supports what.

What is your system specs?

Most likely, you can support SATA if it was built in the last 5 years. IDE is sort of dead.

How much space do you need? What are you going to be using it for?

You know the price is going to be steep, right? HDD prices have gone up since the flooding...
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 01-09-2012, 05:58 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 37
Default

I have 8 gigs of corsair vengeance
1600 ram
Amd 4100 CPU (yes I know everyone thinks it terrible)
Coolermaster hyper N520 CPU cooler
Haf 912 tower
Radeon 5570 gpu
ASus m5a88-m mobo
Windows 7 pro
And a 600 watt coolmax vl-600b Psu

I am Probably gonna sell it so I really only need enough to get some software stuff on it (no more than 250 gigs)
and it will be a gaming rig

So what would work with it?
pcbuilder is offline  
Old 01-09-2012, 06:57 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Lexluethar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 4,708
Send a message via AIM to Lexluethar
Default Re: hdd

Google it:
ASUSTeK Computer Inc. - Motherboards- ASUS M5A88-M

It supports SATA drives, up to 6 gbit/s transfer speeds.
__________________
-Vista SME
Lexluethar is offline  
Old 01-09-2012, 06:59 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: hdd

Pcbuilder, please do not double post within 24 hours. We will get to you in time.

Will you need this for storing more data on it in the future? 250GB is sort of small in today's regards. 500GB, 750GB, 1TB are more used these days.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 01-09-2012, 07:03 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 37
Default

Sorry for double posting.
I just don't have a big enough budget for a large hard drive. By budgets around 50, any suggestions?
pcbuilder is offline  
Old 01-09-2012, 07:08 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: hdd

This is the best you can get under $50: Newegg.com - Recertified: Western Digital RE2 WD1601ABYS 160GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive -Bare Drive
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 01-09-2012, 07:10 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: hdd

For $50 your not going to get much of a hard drive nowadays.

Newegg.com - Recertified: Western Digital RE2 WD1601ABYS 160GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive -Bare Drive

Have you tested the system at all? Will it post and can you enter the bios? That's a really crappy power supply, if it works you should feel lucky.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 01-09-2012, 07:20 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 37
Default

No, I haven't built it yet,
Is the power supply really bad enough that it wouldn't work?
pcbuilder is offline  
Old 01-09-2012, 07:36 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: hdd

I'm afraid you have been ninja'd, Slay.

@pcbuilder- It may work, but you are endangering all your computer parts with a crappy PSU. Crappy, in that, it is not a reputable manufacturer.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What software do you recommed for me to copy all program files from one HDD to another HDD? soarwitheagles Microsoft Windows and Software 6 01-05-2012 09:41 PM
HDD to SSD migration: mirror or clone HDD or reinstall everything fresh hyongx New Systems | Building and Buying 4 08-29-2011 05:16 PM
Getting a bigger HDD. Can I transfer data from current HDD to the new one? UAHGorgix Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 06-08-2011 01:18 PM
Laptop HDD to USB ---HDD failure sounds? Gothch1ck Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 06-06-2009 07:39 PM
Formatting an Notebook HDD turned External HDD? NightSurge Microsoft Windows and Software 3 07-31-2008 09:06 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.