HD4830 installed, couple of ?'s - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-01-2009, 12:30 AM   #1 (permalink)
My Swag is on!
 
rkf76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 411
Default HD4830 installed, couple of ?'s

Well, I successfully upgraded my video card from an MSI X800XT to an MSI HD 4830OC. I have a mild OC on it at the moment, 600mhz core/1000mhz memory and so far so good. All of my Vista Experience scores are now 5.9 except for my CPU, which is a respectable 4.8.....I plan on upgrading it soon though and hope for a 5.5 or better.

In any case, I noticed that MSI Vivid is nowhere to be found. I'm running CCC v.2008.1028.2134.36851, if that matters. I've gone into the CCC and looked for a Vivid tab but there is none, i've gone into each and every one of the existing tabs and found nothing.

Is Vivid not compatible with Vista? I'm running Home Premium.
__________________

__________________
Mobo Abit AN-M2
CPU AMD Athlon 64 X2 5400 2.8Ghz Black Edition
HD Seagate 7200.10 250GB/Maxtor DM +9 160GB/WD 500gb external
Optical Drive Lite-On LH-20A1L-06 DVD burner
RAM G.Skill DDR2 800 Dual channel 2GB (2 x 1GB)
GPU MSI HD 4830 OC
Audio AudioTrak Prodigy HD2
Speakers Insignia NS-B2111
Receiver JVC UX-G70
PSU Hiper Type-R 580 watts
Case Lian Li PC-7SB w/Window
Monitor Lenovo L222
rkf76 is offline  
Old 03-01-2009, 01:10 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Long Island, NY, USA
Posts: 881
Send a message via AIM to Ethan_Kaizer Send a message via MSN to Ethan_Kaizer
Default Re: HD4830 installed, couple of ?'s

I think that would be a seperate application.
__________________

__________________
||Core 2 Duo E4600 @ 2.4 GHz (OC coming soon) || Biostar TP45HP || 4GB Kingston DDR2 667 RAM ||
Sapphire HD 4670 512mb @778/1140 || Antec Trio 650w || Maxtor 250gb 7200 RPM HDD || Lite-On DVD-RW || Black Aluminum Case||
Ethan_Kaizer is offline  
Old 03-01-2009, 01:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
My Swag is on!
 
rkf76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 411
Default Re: HD4830 installed, couple of ?'s

Well, I messed around with it a bit and got it to show up.

When I first installed the card, I loaded the driver/CCC from the supplied disc, Vivid didn't show up but I was able to OC.

I upgraded to CCC v.9.2 and it still didn't show up and I wasn't able to OC anymore, the settings just wouldn't take.

I uninstalled all ATI software and did a fresh install, again using the disc as I figured I'd rather be able to OC than to have Vivid. Once it was done, Vivid was there and I am able to OC again. The only hiccup this time is that applied skins come out looking crazy, but that's a non-issue as the "system skin" looks fine.

FYI, Vivid is not a seperate application
__________________
Mobo Abit AN-M2
CPU AMD Athlon 64 X2 5400 2.8Ghz Black Edition
HD Seagate 7200.10 250GB/Maxtor DM +9 160GB/WD 500gb external
Optical Drive Lite-On LH-20A1L-06 DVD burner
RAM G.Skill DDR2 800 Dual channel 2GB (2 x 1GB)
GPU MSI HD 4830 OC
Audio AudioTrak Prodigy HD2
Speakers Insignia NS-B2111
Receiver JVC UX-G70
PSU Hiper Type-R 580 watts
Case Lian Li PC-7SB w/Window
Monitor Lenovo L222
rkf76 is offline  
Old 03-01-2009, 03:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: HD4830 installed, couple of ?'s

You can download and only install the ATI driver and not have to mess with the Catalyst control crap. That let's you use whatever you want with it, plus it is a much smaller download.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
8800gs, HD4830, HD3870, 9600GSO, HD4670 RichM499 New Systems | Building and Buying 13 11-17-2008 11:58 AM
Crysis Wars installed fine but not running VampD PC Gaming 2 10-04-2008 01:23 AM
Bios Not Installed TheGlazer Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 8 10-17-2007 11:37 PM
installed xp then installed vista now i want to remove xp ? kurtowns Microsoft Windows and Software 0 09-07-2007 08:50 AM
Does the Acer Windows Vista have to be installed on a ACER or on ANY PC? Comptech Microsoft Windows and Software 3 04-09-2007 06:25 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.