HD2600 XT or Pro - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-02-2008, 05:13 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 131
Default HD2600 XT or Pro

Hey guys, i was planning on upgrading my P4 comp's graphics card. Ive got two options;

A Sapphire HD2600XT 256MB DDR3 AGP8X

or

A HIS HD2600Pro 512MB DDR2 AGP8X

I'm getting it second-hand from my friend for the same price. Which is better of the two? I will be playing CSS, BF2142 and maybe Crysis on low to medium settings. High for CSS maybe.

Also, im pairing it up with a P4 2.8 and 1GB of ram. Would this set up cause any bottle necking?

Thanks
__________________

__________________
Core 2 Duo E6600 2.4GHz
ASUS P5N32-E SLI Motherboard
2X Seagate Barracuda 500GB HDD
2X Corsair XMS2 1GB PC 6400 DDR2 800MHz RAM
MSI NX8800GTS 640MB
2x Philips 22" 202P73
m6qrp is offline  
Old 10-02-2008, 05:51 AM   #2 (permalink)
 
zedman3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,852
Default Re: HD2600 XT or Pro

I dont think youll be playing Crysis, but the XT is meant to be a much better performer. Even if it has half the vram.
__________________

zedman3d is offline  
Old 10-02-2008, 06:47 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: HD2600 XT or Pro

AT 22", youre gonna want 512Mb ram.

But then again, the 128bit bus isnt gonna let you take advantage of the extra vram. Most likely you play game at a lower res, so i would go with the XT.
__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 10-02-2008, 08:38 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 131
Default Re: HD2600 XT or Pro

thanks for your reply.wont it run crysis at low settings? im gona be playing on a 19" crt. wouldnt the ddr3 be better than the ddr2? Is the performance between the two significant cause i just checked, its ten bucks difference.

will it cause any bottle necking?

thanks.
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6600 2.4GHz
ASUS P5N32-E SLI Motherboard
2X Seagate Barracuda 500GB HDD
2X Corsair XMS2 1GB PC 6400 DDR2 800MHz RAM
MSI NX8800GTS 640MB
2x Philips 22" 202P73
m6qrp is offline  
Old 10-02-2008, 10:17 AM   #5 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: HD2600 XT or Pro

Get the HD 2600xt since it has gddr3.
__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 10-02-2008, 06:37 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: "Live Music Capitol of the World"
Posts: 202
Default Re: HD2600 XT or Pro

i once owned the XT and i liked it. never tried the pro, but i say go with XT
mahiv87 is offline  
Old 10-04-2008, 12:31 AM   #7 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: HD2600 XT or Pro

I thought the 2600XT was just the 2900XT with some features disabled. So its the same core as the 2900XT. While the "Pros" just failed in comparison with the XT's.

Go with the 2600XT you won't regret it.
__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Old 10-04-2008, 05:58 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: HD2600 XT or Pro

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hussein19891 View Post
I thought the 2600XT was just the 2900XT with some features disabled. So its the same core as the 2900XT. While the "Pros" just failed in comparison with the XT's.

Go with the 2600XT you won't regret it.
Noooo....2600PRO/XT are both RV630.

2900PRO/XT are R600.

R600 core runs very hot...no way a single slot cooler can keep it cool lol.

Video Card Comparison - GPUReview.com
__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 10-04-2008, 08:30 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 131
Default Re: HD2600 XT or Pro

thanks for the input guys, in that case ill go with the 2600XT. Btw it should work with an Intel 865GBF rite???

Thanks
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6600 2.4GHz
ASUS P5N32-E SLI Motherboard
2X Seagate Barracuda 500GB HDD
2X Corsair XMS2 1GB PC 6400 DDR2 800MHz RAM
MSI NX8800GTS 640MB
2x Philips 22" 202P73
m6qrp is offline  
Old 10-04-2008, 09:37 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: HD2600 XT or Pro

It'll work, but you really should have checked out the 8600gt and GTS (8600gt > HD 2600XT)
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Popups and errors in IE. Please help! kristins1877 HijackThis Logs (finished) 1 09-29-2008 09:43 PM
Tech-Forums Community Driven Spyware/Virus Removal Program Osiris Viruses, Spyware and Malware 26 06-10-2008 12:55 PM
Highjackthis log, virtumonde? Landorf HijackThis Logs (finished) 20 05-24-2008 09:09 PM
Can someone steal my XP Pro product key/license #? soarwitheagles Microsoft Windows and Software 6 02-03-2008 04:53 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.