HD and mobo compatibility - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-29-2006, 12:29 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 602
Default HD and mobo compatibility

I have this mobo: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131484

Do I need to get a SATA 150 or SATA 3.0 Gb/s HD?

What is the difference?

Any recommendations? (Want to spend about $100, would like over 200GB storage).

Thank you!
__________________

leonardmp92 is offline  
Old 03-29-2006, 01:24 AM   #2 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

SATA II is actually backwards compatible. Therefore, it doesn't really matter what you get. Also, IMO, you won't see an improvement in performance if you go SATA II. Really, what it comes down to is what kind of price you pay. If you can somehow get a SATA II HD for cheaper, then get it, but I wouldn't spend any extra on one.

Also, I use and recommend Seagate and Western Digital HDs due to their warranties and relability.
__________________

__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 03-29-2006, 05:43 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 35
Default

Yeah I got a Seagate 250GB SATA150 for around $100....they are definitley the best "bang for yer buck!"
Frank_Jaeger is offline  
Old 03-29-2006, 09:19 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 602
Default

Thanks guys...so for my mobo (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...N82E16813131484) I need to choose something that is SATA 150...or can I choose 3.0Gb/s?
__________________
-AMD Phenon X2 555
-Gigabyte GA-880GA-UD3H
-Western Digital Caviar RE WD2500YD 250GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache Serial ATA150
-Patriot Sector 5 DDR3-1333 (4GB)
-Rosewill 500W PSU
leonardmp92 is offline  
Old 03-29-2006, 01:40 PM   #5 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

Like I said, SATA II is backwards compatible, so you can get either.
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 03-29-2006, 01:54 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 602
Default

Thanks Elbatrop1, I guess I am confused on the terminology...is SATA II = SATA 3.0Gb/s? Or is SATA II = SATA 150?

Terminology: Does "SATA 3.0 Gb/s" = "SATA 300"?

Thank you!
__________________
-AMD Phenon X2 555
-Gigabyte GA-880GA-UD3H
-Western Digital Caviar RE WD2500YD 250GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache Serial ATA150
-Patriot Sector 5 DDR3-1333 (4GB)
-Rosewill 500W PSU
leonardmp92 is offline  
Old 03-29-2006, 02:39 PM   #7 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

SATA II is 300MBps, SATA is 150MBps.
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 03-29-2006, 02:40 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 602
Default

Thanks Elbatrop1!
__________________
-AMD Phenon X2 555
-Gigabyte GA-880GA-UD3H
-Western Digital Caviar RE WD2500YD 250GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache Serial ATA150
-Patriot Sector 5 DDR3-1333 (4GB)
-Rosewill 500W PSU
leonardmp92 is offline  
Old 03-29-2006, 03:28 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 602
Default

Also, my mobo says I have: Two SATA 1.5 Gb/s...does this mean I have two separate SATAs or one SATA II (3 Gb/s)?
__________________
-AMD Phenon X2 555
-Gigabyte GA-880GA-UD3H
-Western Digital Caviar RE WD2500YD 250GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache Serial ATA150
-Patriot Sector 5 DDR3-1333 (4GB)
-Rosewill 500W PSU
leonardmp92 is offline  
Old 03-29-2006, 05:35 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 35
Default

I belive it means that you have two SATA150 ports.
__________________

Frank_Jaeger is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.