HD 6770 on a 370w PSU - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-14-2012, 07:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 22
Default HD 6770 on a 370w PSU

Hi forum,

I was gonna order this card. My machine's cpu only draws 65w not oc'd.
I have 3 hd I assume pull 10-15w a piece. 1 optical combo 30w? 4gb ram 1w per gb not oc'd.?.? So that's roughly 150w.

The TPD for the 6770 is 108w (source). So that's about 260 total...leaves me over 100w to play with.?.? Am I cool getting this card?

I don't much about PSUs but it says max 370@ +12 18a, +12 15a

It's a HP server psu that ran an AMD Opteron quad core.


zentechnet is offline  
Old 03-14-2012, 07:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
patonb's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,737
Default Re: HD 6770 on a 370w PSU

Hmm, It's possible that it will work. It has the Amps. Though it's near the no go siz, so its not an easy answer.

Thats pretty low draw for the cpu, what model?

Foldie = i7 950@ 4.0Ghz Gigabyte x58a-ud3r EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 3x2gb OCZ Gold Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 03-14-2012, 07:46 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
Sean W.'s Avatar
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Claremont CA.
Posts: 2,095
Default Re: HD 6770 on a 370w PSU

i think i have a 6790 in my server PC, it only has a 400W psu. i think you will be just fine.


its not a 6790 that i have, but it is a 67xx card. i think you will have zero problems
Modded Raidmax Hyperion Case
MSI Z97M Gaming
16gigs Corsair Vengeance 1866mhz
SLI GTX 980s
Samsung 830 Series 128gig SSD
EVGA G2 850W power supply
2x Alphacool ST30 240mm, 1x Alphacool ST30 120mm, swiftech Micro res, Enzotech Rev A. CPU water block, Full Coverage EKWB GPU blocks, modded Vari MCP655 pump
LG 34UM95 21:9 Ultrawide 3440x1440 monitor
Sean W. is offline  
Old 03-14-2012, 07:54 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 22
Default Re: HD 6770 on a 370w PSU

Cool I'll give it a try..btw the proc is a:
Newegg.com - AMD Athlon II X2 250 Regor 3.0GHz Socket AM3 65W Dual-Core Desktop Processor ADX250OCGMBOX

zentechnet is offline  
Old 03-16-2012, 02:59 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 9
Default Re: HD 6770 on a 370w PSU

You should be just fine. :-) But you probably need to upgrade your PSU in the future tho. 370w is pretty low for all the modern cards now.
Machine_gun is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Radeon HD 6770 outputs BIOS but cuts signal afterwards on HDMI Ozma64 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 12-10-2011 12:39 AM
ASUS Radeon HD 6770 Problems foREVer616uk Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 11-17-2011 06:26 PM
5770 vs 6770 MysteryBox System Upgrades 2 09-24-2011 02:26 PM
Leaked Radeon HD 6770 and 6750 Specs? Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 1 09-28-2010 03:14 PM
how do i test my PSU with this PSU tester NOGA Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 01-18-2006 09:39 AM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:46 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.