HD 3200 hybrid with HD 4670? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-29-2009, 11:31 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 25
Default HD 3200 hybrid with HD 4670?

I just picked up a HIS IceQ OCed 4670 512mb GDDR3 card. My integrated card is a HD 3200. I was wondering is it possible to run a hybrid crossfire with them? Here are my specs below..

OS: Vista x64 bit
CPU: AMD Phenom™ X4 1.8ghz
Ram: 4GB DDR2
GPU: HIS IceQ OCed 4670 512mb GDDR3
HD: 640GB
PSU: 300 watt OEM
Display: 17inch Widescreen LCD run @ 1440x900

Also.. will a lower PSU then recommended limit the potential performance that my new card can handle? It currently runs but I feel like its not reach its potential.. atleast compared to the review's it gets. I'll post my FPS from TF2 so you see what I mean later.
__________________

prauch2k is offline  
Old 05-29-2009, 11:38 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: HD 3200 hybrid with HD 4670?

Nope. Hybrid Crossfire with the onboard 3200 will only work with a select few cards.



As for the PSU, it would be a good idea to upgrade it for sure to be on the safe side either way.
__________________

__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 05-29-2009, 12:09 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: HD 3200 hybrid with HD 4670?

Quote:
Originally Posted by prauch2k View Post
I just picked up a HIS IceQ OCed 4670 512mb GDDR3 card. My integrated card is a HD 3200. I was wondering is it possible to run a hybrid crossfire with them? Here are my specs below..

OS: Vista x64 bit
CPU: AMD Phenom™ X4 1.8ghz
Ram: 4GB DDR2
GPU: HIS IceQ OCed 4670 512mb GDDR3
HD: 640GB
PSU: 300 watt OEM
Display: 17inch Widescreen LCD run @ 1440x900

Also.. will a lower PSU then recommended limit the potential performance that my new card can handle? It currently runs but I feel like its not reach its potential.. atleast compared to the review's it gets. I'll post my FPS from TF2 so you see what I mean later.
It wouldn't like Hikaricloud said, and in any case you wouldn't want it either way. If you did Hybrid CrossfireX the performance would probably be less.
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 05-29-2009, 01:10 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 25
Default Re: HD 3200 hybrid with HD 4670?

Wow, thanks for the quick posts! I'm glad I didn't waste anytime trying to figure out how to run them in crossfire then.

Can you guys point me to a budget 400-500 watt PSU. I'm not to sure what I'd need.. I'd want it to be somewhat future proof if I ever decide to upgrade my video card again. Here are two I saw.. I know APEVIA was one to avoid according to the PSU post but why is that? I'm leaning towards the COOLER MASTER. Any thoughts?

APEVIA WIN-500XSPX 500W ATX12V / EPS12V Power Supply - Retail
Newegg.com - APEVIA WIN-500XSPX 500W ATX12V &#47; EPS12V Power Supply - Power Supplies

COOLER MASTER eXtreme Power Plus RS-500-PCAR-A3 500W ATX12V V2.3 Power Supply - Retail
Newegg.com - COOLER MASTER eXtreme Power Plus RS-500-PCAR-A3 500W ATX12V V2.3 Power Supply - Power Supplies
prauch2k is offline  
Old 05-29-2009, 01:12 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: HD 3200 hybrid with HD 4670?

The CM would be the better choice between those.
__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 05-29-2009, 01:45 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 25
Default Re: HD 3200 hybrid with HD 4670?

Have you ever come across a PSU that could cripple a GPU's performance though? Where it would not allow the GPU to push as many frames per second out?
prauch2k is offline  
Old 05-29-2009, 01:53 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: HD 3200 hybrid with HD 4670?

I think that only happens if the Power Supply isn't good enough to power the card.. and since the HD 4670 requires no power connector, you don't have to worry about it
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 06-01-2009, 08:58 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 25
Default Re: HD 3200 hybrid with HD 4670?

I'm having issues with the performance of my card.. With everything set on high in TF2 I average 50fps but if I get into a fight it drops to 10-25 fps. Do you guys see a potential bottleneck with my PC anywhere?

OS: Vista x64 bit
CPU: AMD Phenom™ X4 1.8ghz
Ram: 4GB DDR2
GPU: HIS IceQ OCed 4670 512mb GDDR3
HD: 640GB
PSU: 300 watt OEM
Display: 17inch Widescreen LCD run @ 1440x900
prauch2k is offline  
Old 06-01-2009, 10:20 AM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: HD 3200 hybrid with HD 4670?

Its your Phenom X4 9550.. its a pretty weak CPU..

I have an HD 3850 which is equivalent to your card in power, minus the power connector but mine doesn't do that in TF2 at all... try to defrag your hard drive
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 06-01-2009, 11:19 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 25
Default Re: HD 3200 hybrid with HD 4670?

Hmm think I'd be able to OC it to make it not be such a weanie?
__________________

prauch2k is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
In Pictures: My upgrade to Hybrid! CalcProgrammer1 Microsoft XBox 13 04-12-2009 08:51 PM
HD 4670, which one? philbar71 New Systems | Building and Buying 15 02-02-2009 09:37 PM
Question about Hybrid CrossFireX Kerrick New Systems | Building and Buying 12 01-19-2009 10:37 PM
Which HD 4670 should I pick. Ethan_Kaizer New Systems | Building and Buying 14 09-29-2008 12:17 AM
All New NVIDIA Chipsets to Feature IGP and Hybrid SLI maroon1 New Technology and Products 6 05-06-2008 04:19 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.