Having RAM trouble, need help! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-31-2007, 08:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 164
Default Having RAM trouble, need help!

Hey guys, Idk if you remember, but I recently bought my brother some new DDR2 ram (was the post asking if you could go ddr1->ddr2 on a laptop), well, a few weeks into this new ram, he started randomly getting the blue screen of death.

Now, we have been in hot debate for some time as the cause, and how to resolve, this problem, And Ive decided to take it here.

I remember a program that this board often suggests that will get the full specs of your computer in an easy to read format, And was wondering if someone could help me get/post that program and its results, as well as help us debunk why the **** this computer is going so stranely haywire (we have reformatted quite a few times, and it still happens occasionaly, leading me to believe the RAM is at fault, but Id like to look at how fast its going, as well as maybe adjusting the FSB, But I really need help with that, and the first step is figuring out what its currently running at, ala the program request).

Thanks alot

-Drew
__________________

drewjustforyou is offline  
Old 08-31-2007, 08:39 PM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Having RAM trouble, need help!

The program you're looking for, is CPU-Z. The most common cause for BSODs, is faulty RAM, so try another stick if possible.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-31-2007, 09:09 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 164
Default Re: Having RAM trouble, need help!

thanks b1g, once again, showing me the path of goodness in the computer world.

getting it right now, so compatibility is not the most likely issue?

and, why would it bring up the BSOD at random intervals, it certainly doesnt appear to be happening in any particular interval, or at any amount of memory usage, sometimes when the computer starts up, sometimes when it sits there, other times it seems he can max his ram usage and not have any problems.

utterly baffeling me, but would running the ram on 1 stick each diagnose a bad stick?
drewjustforyou is offline  
Old 08-31-2007, 09:17 PM   #4 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Having RAM trouble, need help!

It could possibly diagnose one bad stick, if you tested each one at a time. Post a CPU-Z screenshot.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-31-2007, 10:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 164
Smile Re: Having RAM trouble, need help!

Sorry for slow response, heres links to the screen shots.
http://i174.photobucket.com/albums/w...lipboard02.jpg
http://i174.photobucket.com/albums/w...lipboard03.jpg
http://i174.photobucket.com/albums/w...lipboard04.jpg
http://i174.photobucket.com/albums/w...lipboard05.jpg

Thanks for the help, -his little brother.
drewjustforyou is offline  
Old 08-31-2007, 10:08 PM   #6 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Having RAM trouble, need help!

So did you try one stick of RAM at a time? Maybe it's overheating. Monitor the temperatures, with Everest or Core Temp.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
trouble with a Gateway Rounter SYL\X/3K Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 08-20-2007 12:37 PM
Having trouble configuring headset with new PC motoxer4533 Computer Audio and Multimedia 1 07-14-2007 01:41 AM
Trouble connecting to the internet w/ wireless router AlfaSub Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 1 04-29-2007 11:33 PM
Will I get in trouble if I increase my net speed? Ioanni Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 3 04-28-2007 10:49 AM
Windows Cursor Patch Causing Trouble Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 1 04-05-2007 11:18 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.