Hardware check - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-13-2006, 12:21 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 15
Default Hardware check

This is all I need (minus a proper video card [coming later], and os [buying locally]) for a properly runnign computer, correct ? I have speaker, mouse, and keyboard, and monitor already.


$269 Biostar Geforce 6100-M9 NVIDIA Socket 939 MicroATX Motherboard with an AMD Athlon 64 3000+ 1.80GHz CPU & Ultra 512MB DDR PC3200, + Ultra 512MB DDR 3200

$40 Just4PC 747 ATX Mid Tower Computer Case with Front USB and 425Watt Power Supply - Black

$40 DVD+RW

$60 80GB, 7200RPM, 8GB Maxtor HD

$20 Ethernet card, for internet



This is it right ?
__________________

Bigboomer is offline  
Old 01-13-2006, 01:18 AM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,301
Default

That motherboard has onboard LAN... you don't need the Ethernet card.

I wouldn't trust my components with that PSU. You'd do better to take the money for the ethernet card, add some to it, and buy a decent PSU. Check out Antec, ThermalTake, and Fortron.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 01-13-2006, 02:16 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,486
Default

either of these will do fine
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817104953
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817104954
Both are the same, just one has 50 more Watts
Vybuni is offline  
Old 01-13-2006, 02:20 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Mr. Switch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,841
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Switch
Default

you should use a different motherboard. one that doesn't use an onboard videocard. you can buy better mobo's for less money that are probably more reliable and for the price difference, you could buy a 6200 (non TurboCache). that way, your System RAM wouldn't be used up by your videocard.
Mr. Switch is offline  
Old 01-13-2006, 12:38 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 15
Default

Well, im only holding off on the video card for a bit more cash. I'd rather hold out 2-4 weeks and get a 7800GT, rather than get a 6000 series, and wait 4-6 weeks for a 7800GT
Bigboomer is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.