Harddrive replacement - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-23-2006, 02:34 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 266
Default Harddrive replacement

Do I need to find a harddrive that's compatible with my system / motherboard etc? or are they all nearly the same, just purchase, take out old, put new one with cables etc

Thanks any help appreciated
__________________

Willeh is offline  
Old 06-23-2006, 03:06 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

What a Vague Post, You might want to start by telling us Why you need a Harddrive, New Build, or maybe your old one died, Or prehaps you just want extra storage?.
Which in this case it seems you want to replace an old one.

The next "thing" you should Do is list the specifications of your Motherboard and PC.

But For the most part it is a simple process, Use Same Cables, etc etc. You will have to install an OS and backup information that you have from the old HD.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 06-23-2006, 03:23 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
brinks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,144
Default

It's usually ide or sata for connection type.
If your getting sata, make sure your motherboard has it.
Sata2 drives are usually backwards compatible with sata.
brinks is offline  
Old 06-23-2006, 03:28 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 266
Default

I'll post specs later as I don't have the time atm, apologies for the vague first post.

Reason: Upgrading from an 80 GB hard drive.. need more space
Willeh is offline  
Old 06-23-2006, 04:13 AM   #5 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default

So you won't be putting the OS on it then? sounds like you just want to ADD a hard drive, not replace it... depending on what hard drive you get:

If it's IDE, make sure that you have an IDE cable with 2 jumpers connectson it. Make sure that you also change the jumper pins in your hard drives to CS (cable select) and put the OS hard drive (or primary one) on the last (the end one) cable connection.

Sata is even easier... your system will auto detect
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 06-23-2006, 10:45 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 266
Default

I'm taking out my old hard drive, (80 GB) and replacing it with a newer one with much more space. Or is it possible to have 2 hard drives as I've heard from some people..
And can I please which details I need to post about my mainboard?

-deleted specs-
Willeh is offline  
Old 06-23-2006, 07:22 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
alexsabree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,845
Default

hmm...
looks like u have two ide connections..
but that doesnt show that u have sata.

And in case u didnt know we need to know ur price range, if u plan on us giving u suggestions

And that pc wizard thing, doesnt give us good results. Just tell us and dont copy paste etc.

Ok i need to know wat kinda IDE connection u have on ur mobo.
theres 100 133 and i think 66
I also need to know if u have a sata connection
And yes u can have as many harddrives as u can put in

Suggestions:
Dont get a raptor, they are a waste
get another 80gb
dont use raid, it is complicated
Sata is much faster
Just please dont use wizards to tell us wat u have. just look in ur case and use google man.
__________________

alexsabree is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.