Harddrive Question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-04-2007, 03:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: LI, NY
Posts: 100
Send a message via AIM to PeediCracker631
Default Harddrive Question

Ok i got a harddrive a maxtor 80gb as my primary ide. i want to purchase a new harddrive 120gb already formatted into NTFS. i want to make the 120gb the slave and the 80gb the primary. do i have to install xp on the 120gb inorder for it 2 work? or will the hd recognized as another drive letter..

help please!!!
__________________

__________________
refs-
eBay-xXFlyingRiceXx
InsiderForumsFeedback
PeediCracker631 is offline  
Old 04-04-2007, 04:09 PM   #2 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: Harddrive Question

You just need to plug it in and not install windows and it will be recognised
__________________

__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 04-04-2007, 07:12 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: LI, NY
Posts: 100
Send a message via AIM to PeediCracker631
Default Re: Harddrive Question

so i can make it a slave drive??? and it will work liek drag and drop

also i have another harddrive its a 60gb but it has windows xp on it, lets say i make that a slave drive to my 80gb, will it work the same as if it didn't have an OS on it?
__________________
refs-
eBay-xXFlyingRiceXx
InsiderForumsFeedback
PeediCracker631 is offline  
Old 04-04-2007, 07:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Harddrive Question

Yes you can make it a slave drive. Just plug it in, and windows from the 80gb master will recognize it. Just make sure, before you put it in, that the pins at the back of the hard drive is set to slave.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 04-05-2007, 12:25 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: LI, NY
Posts: 100
Send a message via AIM to PeediCracker631
Default Re: Harddrive Question

thanks my computer works great now!!!
__________________
refs-
eBay-xXFlyingRiceXx
InsiderForumsFeedback
PeediCracker631 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tech Question on LCD's and gaming Ultra Steel PC Gaming 10 04-16-2007 09:30 PM
Oblivion Question? tbsk8er04 PC Gaming 2 03-30-2007 12:32 PM
Harddrive problems Shafra Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 03-29-2007 05:55 PM
Question on hard drive quality? ingeborgdot New Systems | Building and Buying 4 03-28-2007 12:48 AM
Coolermaster Mystique question on this case. ingeborgdot New Systems | Building and Buying 2 03-27-2007 05:10 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.