harddrive help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-02-2006, 01:50 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 186
Default harddrive help

how do i find out what kind of hard drive i have? i have everest, but it dosen't say. if i were to switch mobos, would i need a new hd, or are they not connected?
thanks in advance
__________________

__________________
<a href=\"http://photobucket.com\" target=\"_blank\"><img src=\"http://i24.photobucket.com/albums/c13/yours--only/fwfsfsdf.png\" border=\"0\" alt=\"Image hosting by Photobucket\"></a>

Wolfenstein Enemy territory id:
|EtO|Notor!ous

Steam id:
Notoriou5

Star Craft id:
Notoriou5
N0toriou5 is offline  
Old 12-02-2006, 06:36 AM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

hmm...usually everest will tell you, but you could also try any of the 3dmarks programs, pcwizard, or sisoft sandra. If you switch mobo, you don't need a new HD. You just need to do a clean install of Windows.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 12-02-2006, 11:13 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 55
Default

Device manager should tell you something also. Unless it is a particularily old drive, should be able to reuse. And there are ways to use the present install, but its alot of work and not as good as format/cleaninstall. If you have a decent, fast drive, and the new board used the same interface (sata or ide) no problem, or you'd need a controller or an adapter.
krazefinn is offline  
Old 12-02-2006, 12:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Ethereal_Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 3,755
Send a message via AIM to Ethereal_Dragon Send a message via Yahoo to Ethereal_Dragon
Default

You can also tell by looking at the drives themselves.....

IDE Drive

SATA Drive
__________________
Gaming Laptop: - ASUS K501LX-EB71 - Stock (Wife's) - Gateway P-6860FX - Stock (Mine)
General Laptop: - Sony Vaio SVE141D1L - Stock (Mine)
Gaming Rig: BACK ONLINE!! ASUS Z87-PRO (V EDITION), Intel Core i5-4590 Haswell (Stock Cooling), HyperX FURY 8GB DDR3 1866,
XFX Radeon HD 4870, SILVERSTONE DA700, Samsung 840 500Gig SSD MZ-7TD500BW, 3x WD20EARS 2 TB Green,
ASUS DRW-2014L1T (DVD), LG WH14NS40 (Blu Ray), Dell 2709W, Sony SDM-HS95P, Windows 10 Pro
The NAS Box: OFFLINE D-Link DNS-323, 0.1RC3 Alt-F firmware, 2x 7200.14 ST3000DM001 3TB EXT4 - NO RAID - 6 TB
Home Server: BUILD LOG!! - Supermicro SC826TQ-R800LPB chassis, X8DTN+, Dual Xeon E5620 (Stock),
4x Nanya NT4GC72B4NA1NL-CG (24GB Reg ECC DDR3), 12x MICRON MT36JSZF51272PZ-1G4G1FG (48GB Reg ECC DDR3), (72GB total memory)
2x OCZ Agility (60GB) (OS & Backup), 6x WD40EFRX (4TB) in RaidZ2 (14.3 TB usable), 2x Q Series HDTS225XZSTA (256GB) ZIL & L2ARC mirrored

Ethereal_Dragon is offline  
Old 12-02-2006, 05:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

Don't mean to hijack this, but the SATA drive I have uses the 4-pin molex as the power connector. Is this some other type of SATA you linked ethereal?
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 12-02-2006, 09:16 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 55
Default

Most sata use a different power connector...requires adapter for molex. Its sata specific only. Some include both connections on drive, and you use either.
krazefinn is offline  
Old 12-02-2006, 09:58 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 186
Default


does this mean IDE?
__________________
<a href=\"http://photobucket.com\" target=\"_blank\"><img src=\"http://i24.photobucket.com/albums/c13/yours--only/fwfsfsdf.png\" border=\"0\" alt=\"Image hosting by Photobucket\"></a>

Wolfenstein Enemy territory id:
|EtO|Notor!ous

Steam id:
Notoriou5

Star Craft id:
Notoriou5
N0toriou5 is offline  
Old 12-02-2006, 10:18 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 186
Default

Here is my harddrive now, if i were to want to get a new harddrive, would i have to get the same interface, or could i get another kind, like Sata or whatever?
__________________
<a href=\"http://photobucket.com\" target=\"_blank\"><img src=\"http://i24.photobucket.com/albums/c13/yours--only/fwfsfsdf.png\" border=\"0\" alt=\"Image hosting by Photobucket\"></a>

Wolfenstein Enemy territory id:
|EtO|Notor!ous

Steam id:
Notoriou5

Star Craft id:
Notoriou5
N0toriou5 is offline  
Old 12-02-2006, 11:36 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 55
Default

That is only the controller, properties should show what is connected to them. Above 4 lines in dev magr, under disk drives, is the actual drive id'd, click it, and the drive name/mn displays. The barracuda is an ata/ide drive.
You can insatll another ide if you have an open connector on ri bon ide cable and you jumper the opticals/disk drives on them properly. It dioesnt show whether you have a sata controller though. Dev mgr should also have heading for "scsi/sata raid"controler. If not, you will need to buy a sata adapter or pci sata card in order to use a serial interface drive.
krazefinn is offline  
Old 12-02-2006, 11:50 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
M733mhz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 648
Send a message via AIM to M733mhz
Default

There's a real simple way. Take off the side panel of your case and take a gander in there.
__________________

__________________


M733mhz is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.