Hard Drives work only as Master! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-16-2012, 09:32 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 13
Default Hard Drives work only as Master!

I had two Hard Drives w/ DVD-Rom plugged into my computer and they worked perfectly without any problem. Now, I bought new Hard Drive and wanted to remove my old one by placing this new one. I opened up PC, set jumpers as they need to go, turned on my PC, and then in BIOS it says that both of my HDDs are not installed. However I tried, I couldn't make them both work. Only if one HDD is set as master, without a slave, it will work. I unplugged my DVD-rom and set IDE cable from it into new HDD, and then they both worked. What could this mean? Is there possibility that IDE cable may be bad?

It is kinda like this:
First HDD - Master
Second HDD - Slave
( doesn't work - when I plug my Slave IDE into HDD, both HDDs won't work )

First HDD - Master
Second HDD - Unplugged
( works )

First HDD - Master
Second HDD - Master
( works - but then I don't have anymore IDE cables to connect to my DVD-Rom)
__________________

FlowiXx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 11:55 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: I could be anywhere, at any time
Posts: 129
Default Re: Hard Drives work only as Master!

Quote:
Originally Posted by FlowiXx View Post
I had two Hard Drives w/ DVD-Rom plugged into my computer and they worked perfectly without any problem. Now, I bought new Hard Drive and wanted to remove my old one by placing this new one. I opened up PC, set jumpers as they need to go, turned on my PC, and then in BIOS it says that both of my HDDs are not installed. However I tried, I couldn't make them both work. Only if one HDD is set as master, without a slave, it will work. I unplugged my DVD-rom and set IDE cable from it into new HDD, and then they both worked. What could this mean? Is there possibility that IDE cable may be bad?

It is kinda like this:
First HDD - Master
Second HDD - Slave
( doesn't work - when I plug my Slave IDE into HDD, both HDDs won't work )

First HDD - Master
Second HDD - Unplugged
( works )

First HDD - Master
Second HDD - Master
( works - but then I don't have anymore IDE cables to connect to my DVD-Rom)
Regardless of what is actually causing this problem, I should ask this question. Have you tried this configuration:

1st IDE connector : First HDD - Master
1st IDE connector : DVD - Slave
2 IDE Connector: second HDD - Master

If this is possible considering cable length, it is your best option if it works. 2 HDD on the same cable will significantly slow down file transfers between the HDDs.
__________________

ugoboom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2012, 04:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 13
Default Re: Hard Drives work only as Master!

I tried that also, but won't work. Whenever I connect Slave IDE, Master doesn't work.
FlowiXx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2012, 05:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
brinks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,144
Default Re: Hard Drives work only as Master!

Did you properly set the jumpers on all the drivers to master or slave settings.

Have the master drive at the end of the connector and the slave drive to the middle connector.

Also try setting the jumpers to "cable select" if the above don't solve your problem.
brinks is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hard Disk Drives, Hard Drive Docks, External Enclosures and Linux Ubuntu and Meerkat MSwhip Linux and Open Source 5 03-06-2011 11:47 AM
Master Volume Control does not work. SetoKaze Microsoft Windows and Software 4 03-21-2008 11:52 PM
Hard Drives - ata100 and ata 133 work together? Sphyrna System Upgrades 1 10-23-2006 12:40 PM
Making master/slave HD drives. Rock0 System Upgrades 3 10-02-2006 11:01 PM
Master/Slave Drives noobzor New Systems | Building and Buying 2 12-26-2005 08:21 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.