Hard drives - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-13-2006, 04:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 38
Default Hard drives

I'm buying a new hard drive. I currently own a 40 GB WESTERN DIGITAL harddrive and I was planning on buying a 160 GB Seagate.

If I do this can I put all my music, movies and other files onto the seagate (after putting windows xp on it) while both drives are in the same computer? I plan on formatting the first drive and using it for linux and unix.

I'm asking because I'm unsure about mix and matching brands and the Seagate is wayyyyyy cheaper than the wd.


Thnx in advance.
__________________

Relic is offline  
Old 02-13-2006, 05:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 640
Send a message via AIM to schulz269
Default

I don't think mixing differnt HDs is a problem that you should worry about its would be like mixing drives like say one is sony and a off brand one there isn't a problem with doing that. jsut when it comes to ram is about the only problem you would have with mixing the brands.
__________________

__________________
IMG]http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/9546/venomcopycghkcgto8.png[/IMG]
Heatware:
http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=47066
schulz269 is offline  
Old 02-13-2006, 05:22 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 38
Default

What type of problems will I have?
Relic is offline  
Old 02-13-2006, 05:41 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 640
Send a message via AIM to schulz269
Default

i don't think u would have any problems.
__________________
IMG]http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/9546/venomcopycghkcgto8.png[/IMG]
Heatware:
http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=47066
schulz269 is offline  
Old 02-13-2006, 05:45 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 38
Default

Ok, thanks. If I do I'm sure I'll be posting again. lol

Thanks. Just wanted to make sure I could do that.
Relic is offline  
Old 02-14-2006, 01:43 AM   #6 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

Grab a copy of Ghost to transfer everything from your old HD to the new one.

I just upgraded from a 40gig WD to a 160gig Seagate myself. Ghost moved it all without a hitch, and even enlarged the partition for me.

Be sure to have it copy the MBR (master boot record) and check for errors.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 02-14-2006, 09:02 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 274
Send a message via ICQ to smartech
Default

When it comes to hard disk management, I always use Partition Magic 8. Perform any "magic" with your drive, move to other HD, resise, rearrange partitions with no data loss.
__________________

__________________
smartech is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.