Hard drives - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-02-2008, 11:41 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 162
Default Hard drives

I'm in dire need of a new hard drive, mine being only 80gb. However, I don't want to throw the 80gb one away. I was wondering if I could use both hard drives.

I need to find out what kind of hard drive I have (SATA, IDE, ATA,) all these names are confusing me. But I need to find out what type of Hard drive I have, and which one to get, and if I can have both going at the same time.

Sorry if I sound a little confusing. I'm just a bit rushed.
__________________

gloomer is offline  
Old 07-02-2008, 11:50 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 106
Default Re: Hard drives

If it's a desktop, open it up and determine if the hard drive has a fat cord (IDE) or 4-pin cord (SATA).

As for installing a second hard drive, I believe it's just as easy as popping it in and making sure your bios sees the drive. From there, just format the drive to your desires.
__________________

rkagin is offline  
Old 07-03-2008, 12:21 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 162
Default Re: Hard drives

Alright, there's a 4 pin cable that does not look like it's connected to anything, and a smaller cable from the HDD that plugs directly into the motherboard.

So it's SATA I assume? Unfortunately, there's only one slot for a hard drive and doesn't look like there's room for more. Guess I'll have to sell it on craigslist or something heh.

If that above is all true, and it is a SATA, any recommendations? Preferably from NCIX.com - Canada's Premier Computer Store - Great Technology, Service and Selection. because it's the store closest to me. I'm looking for something around 250gigs to 500, but not lower. I'm just hoping the price is under $120.

Thanks!

EDIT: Also, will the physical size of the drive matter? 3.5inch vs 2.5inch?
gloomer is offline  
Old 07-03-2008, 02:55 AM   #4 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: Hard drives

3.5" is used in desktops, 2.5" is used in laptops.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 07-03-2008, 11:03 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 106
Default Re: Hard drives

These seem to be what you're looking for:

NCIX.com - Buy Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 3.5IN 500GB SATA2 8.5MS 7200RPM 32MB Cache NCQ Hard Drive - ST3500320AS In Canada.
NCIX.com - Buy Western Digital SE16 500GB SATA2 7200RPM 16MB Cache 8.9MS NCQ Hard Drive OEM 3YR MFR Warranty - WD5000AAKS In Canada.

Both are under 100 CAD.
rkagin is offline  
Old 07-03-2008, 11:12 AM   #6 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Hard drives

ATA = IDE = EIDE = wide flat ribbon cable

SATA = thin cable, maybe 1/4" wide

Since you don't have room for another drive in the cage, do you have a spare drive bay? If so, you can use this to mount the drive:
Removable drive tray
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
looking to see if i can use these hard drives in my computer xOxBaNaNaSxOx New Systems | Building and Buying 4 05-24-2008 01:26 AM
BIOS stopped detecting hard drives YoBagonGo Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 09-04-2007 11:42 PM
Which hard drives are compatible with the ABIT NF7-S motherboard? Herringtrader Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 07-19-2007 02:28 AM
When will 10,000 rpm hard drives be standard? macdawg Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 13 04-28-2007 03:22 PM
New Western Digital Drives For AV Products maroon1 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 04-09-2007 02:14 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.