Hard drive upgrade - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-20-2006, 01:55 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6
Default Hard drive upgrade

Hi.

I just got a new 250GB Western Digital drive and am wanting to transfer the data from the old 80GB to it.

I have Acronis True Image. Do you think this is the best solution? Will it transfer all the programs and data? Will the programs work correctly?

Thanks.



PS: Also should I have one partition just for Windows? Do I install Windows on the new drive first?
__________________

irdepesca572 is offline  
Old 01-20-2006, 06:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

Use norton ghost or something like that. If you are ghosting the harddrive you dont have to install an os.
__________________

__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 01-20-2006, 10:14 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6
Default

Thanks. But should I have a seperate partition for Windows?
irdepesca572 is offline  
Old 01-20-2006, 10:15 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

Are you putting two versions of windows on?
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 01-20-2006, 10:16 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6
Default

No, just XP. I just heard having a partition for Windows is a good idea.

Thanks for the fast reply.
irdepesca572 is offline  
Old 01-20-2006, 10:20 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

Well you need a partiton for the drive to be bootable. If I understand what your saying boot with the new harddrive in master and boot with the windws xp cd. Create a basic partiton and format it. When your done formatting it the drive should be good to go. Make it a slave drive and thenghost or transfer whatever your want to do.
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 01-20-2006, 10:48 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6
Default

Yeah, I want to install Windows and transfer everything over on the new drive.
irdepesca572 is offline  
Old 01-20-2006, 10:49 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

Well if your going to install windows fresh, then you can't copy programs. You can copy data but you have to re-insall the prgrams.
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 01-20-2006, 10:55 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6
Default

Oh ok. I guess I'll try true image/ghost.
irdepesca572 is offline  
Old 01-20-2006, 10:56 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

Go ahead.
__________________

__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.