Hard Drive Upgrade - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-03-2006, 02:18 AM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 318
Default

Alright thanks a lot and and serial ATA is SATA, right?
__________________

Crusader is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 02:19 AM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 405
Default

yep Serial ATA, ATA is an abbrev. of atapi which i dont know what it means, allso known as PATA (parallel ATA)
__________________

__________________
The_Tobes99 is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 02:21 AM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 318
Default

Ok thanks a lot.
__________________
<a href=\"http://www.dynasig.net/?id=2883\"><img src=\"http://serve.dynasig.net/2883.gif\" width=\"350\" height=\"85\" alt=\"Signature\" border=\"0\" /></a><br />
DynaSig: <a href=\"http://www.dynasig.net\">Dynamic Forum Signature</a>
Crusader is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 02:25 AM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 318
Default

Is this hdd ok. BTW the prices are in NZ so dont be surprised.http://www.trademe.co.nz/Computers/C...n-44317754.htm
__________________
<a href=\"http://www.dynasig.net/?id=2883\"><img src=\"http://serve.dynasig.net/2883.gif\" width=\"350\" height=\"85\" alt=\"Signature\" border=\"0\" /></a><br />
DynaSig: <a href=\"http://www.dynasig.net\">Dynamic Forum Signature</a>
Crusader is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 02:34 AM   #15 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 405
Default

slightly higher number than here in australia, i think thats a good choice people around here are in love with seagate so i guess thats the best choice. 160-200GB is about the niche for hdd buying at the moment
__________________
The_Tobes99 is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 02:42 AM   #16 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 318
Default

Alright thanks ill buy that then. BTW thanks for all your help you have been really helpful.
Cheers
__________________
<a href=\"http://www.dynasig.net/?id=2883\"><img src=\"http://serve.dynasig.net/2883.gif\" width=\"350\" height=\"85\" alt=\"Signature\" border=\"0\" /></a><br />
DynaSig: <a href=\"http://www.dynasig.net\">Dynamic Forum Signature</a>
Crusader is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 02:51 AM   #17 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 405
Default

any time, good to know i helped
__________________
The_Tobes99 is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 03:22 AM   #18 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 318
Default

Hey i decided i would prefer just get this one because im hoping to build a computer soon and i would probably get SATA for that so i would prefer not spend to much money now. So is this one ok.
http://www.trademe.co.nz/Computers/C...n-44065885.htm
I realised this is IDE when i was told to buy ATA is there a big differnce im finding it harder to find ATA.
Thanks
__________________
<a href=\"http://www.dynasig.net/?id=2883\"><img src=\"http://serve.dynasig.net/2883.gif\" width=\"350\" height=\"85\" alt=\"Signature\" border=\"0\" /></a><br />
DynaSig: <a href=\"http://www.dynasig.net\">Dynamic Forum Signature</a>
Crusader is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 06:21 AM   #19 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
mike4realz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 404
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Crusader
Is this hdd ok. BTW the prices are in NZ so dont be surprised.http://www.trademe.co.nz/Computers/C...n-44317754.htm
why u getting a SATA hard drive when u don't have SATA? get an IDE hard drive
__________________

Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 2.83Ghz || 4GB OCZ 1066 DDR2 RAM || GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3P Motherboard ||
PNY XLR8 GTX 470 || Raptor 300GB 10,000 RPM HDD RAID0 || Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
mike4realz is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 06:34 AM   #20 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

You need should look for PATA, IDE, EIDE, ATA
Don't get anything that says SATA, Serial ATA or SCSI.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.