Hard drive replacement [updated] - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-25-2006, 11:15 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 266
Default Hard drive replacement [updated]

Firstly, posting a new topic since my old one was a bit plain and went no where, if a moderator could delete it please, Thank you.

Okay,
Reason for replacement: My old hard drive [Western Digital 80 GB] is far too small and as applications such as games get bigger in size, it's taking up the 80 GB faast.

Secondly, my budget is around £40 - £60 and can go above that budget if really needed to [converting to $, I think it's about $82 - $ 124 ish?].
I'm really only looking for hard drives produced by western digital as it's the only one I've been using for years. Below is what I've found which I think is suitable as an upgrade: http://www.cclonline.com/product-inf...roduct_id=6616

The price in dollars is about $110 ish

I'm on a Packard Bell Imedia5116SE desktop PC, and my motherboard supports 48bit, but only does IDE and ATA not SATA

So basically, is 250 GB enough to last me a while? and how is it possible to have 2 HDDS, I thought a PC only has one ATA / IDE cable or w/e?

If anyone requires any additional information.. please say.

Thanks
__________________

Willeh is offline  
Old 06-25-2006, 12:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,403
Default

You will have MORE than enough space on a 250... and all you need is a ribbon cable that has 2 IDE connectors on it... Change the hard drives so that they are CS (Cable Select) and put the 80GB (with the OS on it) on the very end connector, and put the slave (250) on the second one then reboot your system and let the system recognize it... you may also have to load up the disk tat usually comes with hard drives tat have a bigger size so that the computer will see all of the drive.
__________________

__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 06-26-2006, 12:09 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 793
Default

I thought Packard Bell was dead.

but, anyway 250GB is alot and should be plenty
__________________



\"I may or may not have put a loaf of bread in the dish washer\"
\"Once you go white a trailer is in sight\"
COD2_fanatic is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.