Hard Drive Question - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-20-2010, 10:52 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: PA
Posts: 3
Default Re: Hard Drive Question

Best solution. Remove the hard drive. Put a new one in (35-75$) Reload the new drive. Then access the old drive ether by using a USB converter or putting it back in as a slave drive (or master if it is on a different bus) Works every time and the beauty is that you have a new (fresh) load on a brand new drive. Also if you mirror the old drive over to the new drive you have an instant backup. There are no right or wrong answers, only different solutions that may apply.

bigred1001
__________________

bigred1001 is offline  
Old 04-21-2010, 03:42 AM   #12 (permalink)
Seg Fault'n
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The dried husk where America came from
Posts: 5,801
Default Re: Hard Drive Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by BroncoBoy91 View Post
So just to clarify..sorry I just have tons of vids n music n games I don't wanna lose, I will format the SATA when I get it..dump all my stuff I want to keep on it..Unplug it from my Comp..Format my IDE..reinstall windows onto my IDE when thats all done, I'll re-plug in my SATA and be good to go...right?
That would be fine, you wouldn't even need to unplug the SATA when you format the IDE.
__________________

__________________


There are in order of increasing severity: lies, darn lies, statistics, and computer benchmarks. - diskinfo man page
"Get your money and let's go to court!" - Craig Mudie, MS
kmote is offline  
Old 04-22-2010, 02:26 AM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 8
Default Re: Hard Drive Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by kmote View Post
That would be fine, you wouldn't even need to unplug the SATA when you format the IDE.
Ok thanks....I just remember awhile ago, I thought the same thing, and I moved all my files to my 2 other Hard Drives, and formatted just the one for the system, but when everything was all said and done windows didn't recognize them so I figured I had to reformat.
__________________

BroncoBoy91 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hard drive question IT_N8 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 10-14-2009 12:53 AM
Hard drive recovery help (windows 98 hard drive jmxtx Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 12-13-2008 03:33 AM
hard drive question (noobish) prophet237 System Upgrades 1 08-13-2008 12:40 AM
HP laptop hard drive question diesel43078 Laptops and Notebooks 7 08-05-2008 08:26 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.