Hard Drive Question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-17-2010, 07:06 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 8
Default Hard Drive Question

Hey guys,
So I have a 120GB (unknown brand) IDE drive...(old school I know) and I'm going to be purchasing a Western Digital 1TB SATA drive next week. I just recently built a new computer (thats why I need a new hard drive, my old mother board had 2 IDE's, this one only has one) so I had to dump my 2 hard drives, for my DVD and 120GB Drive.
Is it possible to hook up the SATA drive and "transfer" all my files over? I know it will work with all my music, movies, and games, but when it comes to the system files it seems like the computer wouldn't like it. Is there software out there to make that possible??
Which brings me to my next question...would a system run any smoother if the hard drive it was installed on was "dedicated" to the system and the other had everything else??

Thank you for all your input!
__________________

BroncoBoy91 is offline  
Old 04-17-2010, 08:15 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,772
Default Re: Hard Drive Question

You can use a drive cloner such as Ghost or Easus Partition Manager to copy everything over (it will copy it as if it were a 120GB drive so you'd need to expand that tot the 1TB.

Quote:
Which brings me to my next question...would a system run any smoother if the hard drive it was installed on was "dedicated" to the system and the other had everything else??
Yes, that's a good idea. I personally have an 80GB with the OS and programs, while everything else (music, video, games, etc.) is on my 640GB. It's good for performance because if you're playing a game from the larger drive than anything requiring the OS drive won't be impeded by the game.
__________________

__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 04-17-2010, 09:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 8
Default Re: Hard Drive Question

Ok thanks!! I think I'll do that then, I'll just get the Sata installed, move all my movies, music, n games over to that bad boy, and just keep my system folders on the 120 GB.

Thanks for the quick response!!
BroncoBoy91 is offline  
Old 04-19-2010, 09:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 8
Default Re: Hard Drive Question

Another quick question regarding the hard drive..so I have decided to keep my 120GB IDE and use that only for my system files etc, and have my new SATA for all my music, movies etc. Now when I get my drive (keep in mind its a bare drive, so no software, etc) is it possible to just plug it in to my computer, and when I boot up windows will recognize is, set it as my D: drive, and can I just move all the stuff I want on there then unplug it, format my IDE, reinstall windows and plug in my SATA and be good to go??

I have a bunch of music files, and movies, and I have a external but its fairly small and I have to transfer files to it, then move them to my moms computer, then move more files to the external, and if I could just plug in the SATA move my music and movies to it, unplug it, and format the IDE and install windows on that and just plug the SATA back in and be good, would be ALOT easier.


Also too, I'm running Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit.
BroncoBoy91 is offline  
Old 04-19-2010, 10:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: PA
Posts: 3
Default Re: Hard Drive Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by BroncoBoy91 View Post
Hey guys,
So I have a 120GB (unknown brand) IDE drive...(old school I know) and I'm going to be purchasing a Western Digital 1TB SATA drive next week. I just recently built a new computer (thats why I need a new hard drive, my old mother board had 2 IDE's, this one only has one) so I had to dump my 2 hard drives, for my DVD and 120GB Drive.
Is it possible to hook up the SATA drive and "transfer" all my files over? I know it will work with all my music, movies, and games, but when it comes to the system files it seems like the computer wouldn't like it. Is there software out there to make that possible??
Which brings me to my next question...would a system run any smoother if the hard drive it was installed on was "dedicated" to the system and the other had everything else??

Thank you for all your input!
All you need is an IDE/SATA to USB converter. Plug in the drive and do all of your data exchanges through the USB port. Cost around 25$.
bigred1001 is offline  
Old 04-19-2010, 11:49 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 8
Default Re: Hard Drive Question

Yeah, I know that, what I meant was, if I plug in my new SATA drive into Windows 7 64, will it automatically recognize it? I know I will probably have to format it the very first time, but if I format an put my music n vids, etc on it and THEN start over fresh with Windows 7 on my IDE will I have to format my SATA AGAIN? or do I just have to do it once and windows will recognize it again.
BroncoBoy91 is offline  
Old 04-20-2010, 12:14 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Missouri
Posts: 1,534
Default Re: Hard Drive Question

It should, but if it doesn't automatically mount it, and assign the drive letter. Type in "Partition" in the Start Menu search bar, and open "Create and Format hard drive partitions." There you will see a RAW drive, which you'll have to format, and assign the drive letter to it.
__________________
ASUS M5A99FX Pro R2.0 : AMD FX 9370 : Corsair H100i GTX Cooler : 16GB Corsair Vengeance Blue 1600 (4x4Gb) : XFX 7970 Ghz 3GB x 2 : PNY XLR8 256GB SSD : Seagate 1TB : Antec True Power Quattro 1000W : Thermaltake G41
95BlackGA is offline  
Old 04-20-2010, 01:58 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 8
Default Re: Hard Drive Question

ok, I just don't wanna put all my stuff on the SATA and format my IDE and reinstall windows and find out later I have to re-format it again and lose all my stuff.
BroncoBoy91 is offline  
Old 04-20-2010, 08:57 AM   #9 (permalink)
Seg Fault'n
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The dried husk where America came from
Posts: 5,801
Default Re: Hard Drive Question

You will not have to reformat the SATA drive just because you format the IDE drive.
__________________


There are in order of increasing severity: lies, darn lies, statistics, and computer benchmarks. - diskinfo man page
"Get your money and let's go to court!" - Craig Mudie, MS
kmote is offline  
Old 04-20-2010, 05:03 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 8
Default Re: Hard Drive Question

So just to clarify..sorry I just have tons of vids n music n games I don't wanna lose, I will format the SATA when I get it..dump all my stuff I want to keep on it..Unplug it from my Comp..Format my IDE..reinstall windows onto my IDE when thats all done, I'll re-plug in my SATA and be good to go...right?
__________________

BroncoBoy91 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hard drive question IT_N8 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 10-14-2009 12:53 AM
Hard drive recovery help (windows 98 hard drive jmxtx Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 12-13-2008 03:33 AM
hard drive question (noobish) prophet237 System Upgrades 1 08-13-2008 12:40 AM
HP laptop hard drive question diesel43078 Laptops and Notebooks 7 08-05-2008 08:26 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.