Hard Drive problems... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-08-2007, 10:22 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 25
Send a message via AIM to Unreal Tuner Send a message via Yahoo to Unreal Tuner
Question Hard Drive problems...

Hello all,

I recently purchased a 120gig hard drive from Seagate for a computer that i am building. Nothing special just want it for simple basic things (Office and to burn cds). I first put it in my primary computer as a slave and formatted and partitioned it with Partiton Magic 8. I then copied over files the slave so that I could boot from it. I then proceeded to test it out and boot from it but it did not work saying that there was an error. I then formatted it and left the slave empty and tried to boot from my windows xp disk, but that did not work either. Somehow I don't remember this being hard before So I am obviously forgetting to do something. Any help?

Thanks
__________________

Unreal Tuner is offline  
Old 01-08-2007, 10:47 AM   #2 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

You can't just copy the Windows files to a new disk and boot from it. You have to re-install Windows or do a repair install.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 01-08-2007, 11:14 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 25
Send a message via AIM to Unreal Tuner Send a message via Yahoo to Unreal Tuner
Default

Wouldn't that come up when I put the disk in at start up though?
Unreal Tuner is offline  
Old 01-08-2007, 11:29 AM   #4 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Yes
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 01-08-2007, 11:41 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 25
Send a message via AIM to Unreal Tuner Send a message via Yahoo to Unreal Tuner
Default

that seems to be my problem. The setup screen does not come up. It just gives me an error message. Should I just format and partition the drive, then restart it with the disk in? Would that work?
Unreal Tuner is offline  
Old 01-08-2007, 03:53 PM   #6 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

You have to configure your BIOS to boot from the CD drive. Press DEL to enter the BIOS (on most computers).
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 01-09-2007, 10:45 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 25
Send a message via AIM to Unreal Tuner Send a message via Yahoo to Unreal Tuner
Default

Thanks...I will try this again
__________________

Unreal Tuner is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.