Hard Drive Formatting - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-06-2006, 12:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
NickFas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 273
Default Hard Drive Formatting

This might be a really dumb question but,

How do you format a hard drive? The computer that i want to do this to is a laptop by toshiba if that makes any difference.

Nick
__________________

__________________
Proud owner of the only hampster powered rig on these boards.
NickFas is offline  
Old 01-06-2006, 12:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

By putting in an OS Disc, booting off of it, following the menu options
Delete partition>reformat>install OS
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 01-06-2006, 12:46 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
NickFas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 273
Default

and that wipes everything clean right? do i have to install all the drivers for the hardware again?
__________________
Proud owner of the only hampster powered rig on these boards.
NickFas is offline  
Old 01-06-2006, 12:51 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Wipes everything.

You would need to reinstall the drivers for every device attached to and part of the laptop.

So make sure you have all those before you reformat.
Ste is offline  
Old 01-06-2006, 01:03 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
NickFas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 273
Default

yeah i was worried that i would have to have those, guess i wont be reformatting for a while...
__________________
Proud owner of the only hampster powered rig on these boards.
NickFas is offline  
Old 01-06-2006, 01:06 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

What you can do is make a list of all the devices that need drivers for your computer, you can then (Before you reformat) goto each website, find the device, download that specific driver. Then when you have all the drivers on a CD-R you can reformat. It may be time consumming but a reformat is well worth it.
Ste is offline  
Old 01-06-2006, 02:08 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
NickFas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 273
Default

alright i found everything but when i put the os disc in all it says is that it doesn't let me reformat the hard drive...
__________________
Proud owner of the only hampster powered rig on these boards.
NickFas is offline  
Old 01-06-2006, 02:15 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
NickFas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 273
Default

actually scratch that thought...i just found the driver cd's from when i bought the laptop, i just inserted disc one of five and it had a reformat option...thanks for the help anyways!!
__________________

__________________
Proud owner of the only hampster powered rig on these boards.
NickFas is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.