Hard Drive Confusion: SATA v SATA2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-01-2005, 06:17 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 39
Default Hard Drive Confusion: SATA v SATA2

Check this out....

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...SubCategory=14

All numbers being equal, save the 1.5 v 3 gb/s.

BUT.... The SATA2 is cheaper! What's going on?
__________________

Hawkk is offline  
Old 10-01-2005, 07:55 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GuitarFreak1857's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,847
Default

um sata two is twice as fast... notice how it says 3.0Gb/s as opposed to 1.50
__________________

__________________
My Gaming Desktop
Abit IP35-E

Intel Core2 Duo E8400 (Thermalright Ultra-120)
Mushkin 2x2GB DDR800 RAM

eVGA GeForce 8800GTS
Creative X-Fi Gamer Edition
Western Digital Caviar 250GB 7,200RPM
Western Digital Caviar 640GB 7,200RPM
OCZ 720W ModStream
Lian Li PC-7A
Windows XP Professional x64 Edition
GuitarFreak1857 is offline  
Old 10-02-2005, 12:51 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 39
Default

DUDE I KNOW!

But It's 32 $ CHEAPER!

Whats up?
Hawkk is offline  
Old 10-03-2005, 06:41 AM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: A system that rotates chaotically while simulations indicate irregular and unconventional behaviour.
Posts: 477
Default

oem vs. retail?

funny thing, the shipping price is also different

and warranty
LoTeX is offline  
Old 10-03-2005, 10:40 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 39
Default

ah! good call. But I still see no difference betw/ the two. Besides the retail one having only one year warranty. And the shipping price. I guess I'm definetly going with the SATA 2.
Hawkk is offline  
Old 10-03-2005, 12:39 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 153
Default

Make sure your motherboard can support it..
Kilew is offline  
Old 10-03-2005, 05:06 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GuitarFreak1857's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,847
Default

OEM comes with nothing except the HDD rapped in bubble rap. it makes a big difference in price, for ex: look at the WD Raptor, 180OEM, 250 REtail.
__________________
My Gaming Desktop
Abit IP35-E

Intel Core2 Duo E8400 (Thermalright Ultra-120)
Mushkin 2x2GB DDR800 RAM

eVGA GeForce 8800GTS
Creative X-Fi Gamer Edition
Western Digital Caviar 250GB 7,200RPM
Western Digital Caviar 640GB 7,200RPM
OCZ 720W ModStream
Lian Li PC-7A
Windows XP Professional x64 Edition
GuitarFreak1857 is offline  
Old 10-04-2005, 01:23 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 39
Default

But does it come with plugs and drivers?

Is it usable as is, meaning, just plug it in and you have everything?
__________________

Hawkk is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.