Hard drive in another computer - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-24-2006, 11:14 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 58
Send a message via AIM to carlege
Default Hard drive in another computer

alright guys my laptop completely went dead on me and i bought a new one.. i am going to put my old hardrive in this computer... should i be concerned with drivers and such that arnt meant to support the newer computer or should it not be a problem
__________________

carlege is offline  
Old 09-24-2006, 11:16 AM   #2 (permalink)
Neowin.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 633
Default

So, you want to put the old hard drive in your new laptop??
__________________

ECTech is offline  
Old 09-24-2006, 11:30 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 58
Send a message via AIM to carlege
Default

yes because of important school files and rendering programs are already installed in the old hardrive

its a better quality HD Western Digital and it will save me many hours of loading and configuring programs
carlege is offline  
Old 09-24-2006, 11:46 AM   #4 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

You WILL have to reinstall Windows on the harddrive or it will BSOD everytime. My suggestion is to put the harddrive in, find yourself a Linux LiveCD or something, and backup to pendrive/tape drive/server/whatever you can backup to. Then, reformat and reinstall.
__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 09-24-2006, 11:52 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 58
Send a message via AIM to carlege
Default

alright so i guess its not as easy as just installing the hardrive.

i do have most of the programs backed up on my desktop (reason i built the desktop)

so i put the hardrive in and run Linux LiveCD what will this do... enable me to view the files on the HD? and then back it up to my desktop through a thumb drive?
where will i get linux live cd....

or could i get an adapter for my desktop and read the drive directly to that
carlege is offline  
Old 09-24-2006, 11:54 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 58
Send a message via AIM to carlege
Default

are there adapters out there?
carlege is offline  
Old 09-24-2006, 12:04 PM   #7 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

http://www.knopper.net/knoppix/index-en.html

Yes. Places like Newegg have them.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16812203012
__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 09-24-2006, 12:18 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 58
Send a message via AIM to carlege
Default

macdude thankyou very much for your help.. i wll try the knopper first then try to spend money on an adapter
__________________

carlege is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.